GRM Super2 rookie releases livery

  • Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 18/02/2019
  • By Mitchell Adam

Dunlop Super2 Series newcomer Dylan O'Keeffe has revealed the colours he'll carry with Garry Rogers Motorsport in 2019.

The 21-year-old joins the Holden squad this season, replacing 2018 series winner Chris Pither in its #44 entry alongside Mason Barbera.

A white-and-red base is adorned by major backers APB Group and Watsons, as O'Keeffe switches from Porsches to Supercars.

After time in Porsche 944s and then the national GT3 Cup Challenge, O'Keeffe spent the last three years in Carrera Cup, taking third in the 2018 points.

He has now completed a pair of tests in the GRM Holden, a full day last week at Winton accompanying an evaluation outing in December.

"The Supercar has a very different driving style compared to the Porsche," O'Keeffe said.

"The braking is much more ferocious, and getting on the throttle early is more important than carrying mid-corner speed.

"There are other aspects I need to learn, especially making the most of new tyres in qualifying, and tyre management during the races.

"When I did the evaluation day at the end of last year, there were a few aspects of my technique I knew I needed to work on, and at last week’s test I felt much more comfortable with the car straight away."

O'Keeffe is following GRM's traditional program of working full-time at the team's base.

"I’m learning a lot about what goes on behind the scenes in a race team, and it’s satisfying to be working on the car that I’m going to be racing," he said.

"The livery looks amazing, and I can’t wait to roll out for practice at Adelaide next week."

He is one of three currently-confirmed rookies for the new season, which starts at the Superloop Adelaide 500.

The others are Kumho Super3 Series winner Tyler Everingham with MW Motorsport and Aussie Racing Cars champ Joel Heinrich with Matt Stone Racing.

2019 Dunlop Super2 Series field so far

Brad Jones Racing: Jack Smith
Eggleston Motorsport: Will Brown
Garry Rogers Motorsport: Mason Barbera, Dylan O'Keeffe
Image Racing: Jordan Boys, Adam Marjoram
Kostecki Brothers Racing: Brodie Kostecki, Jake Kostecki
Matt Chahda Motorsport: Matt Chahda
Matt Stone Racing: Joel Heinrich, Ash Walsh
MW Motorsport: Tyler Everingham, Bryce Fullwood, Zane Goddard
Tickford Racing: Thomas Randle
Triple Eight: Brenton Grove, Kurt Kostecki

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter