Best ousts Feeney by 0.014s to claim first Super2 pole

  • Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 18/07/2021
  • By James Pavey

Zak Best has ousted series leader Broc Feeney to claim a maiden ARMOR ALL Pole Position in Townsville.

Best ended Feeney's run of three consecutive poles, albeit by the scant margin of 0.014s.

Feeney, who was reclassified as the Race 1 winner, missed out on a fourth straight pole, but remains on course for a fourth straight win after locking in another front-row start.

The two have traded hands all season, with Feeney taking the series lead from Best after the first race in Townsville last weekend.

It came after Best arrived in North Queensland as the series leader following a Bathurst weekend where Feeney was penalised in Race 2.

Feeney has been the class of the field since, taking three poles in Townsville and winning all three races at the Reid Park Street Circuit.

Image Racing’s Jordan Boys was third ahead of MW Motorsport’s Jayden Ojeda.

Feeney was the early pace-setter with a 1:15.5223s, ahead of Boys on a 1:15.6292s.

The field returned with fresh tyres, and it was Aaron Seton who set the running.

However, Ojeda and then Feeney had stints at the top, before Best clocked a 1:14.487s in the final minute of the 10-minute session.

It set off raucous scenes in the Tickford garage, which is running high after Cameron Waters’s Race 17 main game victory on Saturday.

“We’ve just been slowly building all weekend, just trying to catch that #888 car,” Best said.

“We’ve finally done it so it’s a good feeling. We knew we had it in us but just put it together and got the job done.”

Seton, Angelo Mouzouris, Josh Fife, Jack Perkins, Zane Morse and Declan Fraser rounded out the top 10.

All 16 Super2 entries managed to make the grid despite the Race 1 pile-up.

Nash Morris scored another pole in the Super3 class, and will start the race from 16th outright.

Michael Anderson was second in class and 18th outright.

The 21-lap Race 2 will start at 2:20pm AEST.

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter