PremiAir hands Super2 rookie Bathurst debut

05 Aug 2022
Cameron Hill will make his first Great Race start

Super2 rookie Cameron Hill will make his Repco Bathurst 1000 debut with PremiAir Racing.

PremiAir Racing confirmed Friday that Hill, 25, will share the #22 Coca-Cola Commodore with Chris Pither.

Hill is one of the more accomplished drivers in the Super2 field, having won last year's Carrera Cup title.

He also won this year’s Bathurst 6 Hour, and is the 2015 Australian Formula Ford Series winner and 2017 Toyota 86 Racing Series runner-up.

Hill remarkably won April's 6 Hour despite starting 60th.

The Canberra-born driver impressed Triple Eight, which handed him a Super2 seat for 2022.

Through three rounds, Hill is second overall, just 69 points behind teammate Declan Fraser.

'What better way to make my debut'

Hill is the seventh current Super2 driver announced for Bathurst; Hill joins Declan Fraser, Matt Payne, Aaron Seton, Matt Chahda and Jaylyn Robotham as debutants.

"This will be my first main game race, and what better way to make my debut," Hill said.

"While it may be my first time at Bathurst in a Supercar, I’ve got plenty of laps under my belt.

"I’ve also raced in the Bathurst 12 Hour, in Carrera Cup, and the Toyota 86 Racing Series.

"For me, this is going to be an incredible experience, and I’m looking forward to being on the mountain.

"Hopefully, between Chris and I we can achieve a great result."

It comes after Hill tested a PremiAir Commodore at Queensland Raceway in May.

Pither will make his 12th Bathurst start, having made his debut in 2007.


For Hill, it will be Great Race start No.1; it will also come on the same weekend he makes his first Super2 Bathurst starts.

"It's very hard to get your first opportunity in the Supercars Championship," Pither said.

"Cam’s been going well in Super2, this year, so he deserves the opportunity.

"Racing in the Bathurst 1000 for the first time is a special experience, I look forward to sharing with him.

"I know he'll do a great job."

PremiAir Racing Team Principal Matt Cook added: "We are very excited to have Cam coming on board with Chris to co-drive the PremiAir Coca-Cola Racing Supercar.

"Cam currently drives for Triple Eight Race Engineering in Super2 and our cars are Triple Eight cars.

Carrera Cup success in 2021

"The transition should be pretty seamless for him and we are hoping he can do some big things here with us."

Hill will join Pither at Queensland Raceway next Tuesday for a test day.

Just five combinations on the 29-car grid remain unconfirmed, including the sister PremiAir car.

PremiAir Racing is expected to announced James Golding's co-driver in the coming days.

The 2022 season will resume at Sandown on August 19-21. Purchase your tickets now.

Tickets for this year's Repco Bathurst 1000 are on sale now.

Experience Bathurst 1000 from Trackside

2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 combinations



Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto

Shell V-Power Racing Team

Will Davison/Alex Davison

Shell V-Power Racing Team

James Courtney/Zane Goddard

Tickford Racing

Cam Waters/James Moffat

Tickford Racing

Thomas Randle/Zak Best

Tickford Racing

Jake Kostecki/Kurt Kostecki

Tickford Racing

Nick Percat/Warren Luff

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Chaz Mostert/Fabian Coulthard

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Will Brown/Jack Perkins

Erebus Motorsport

Brodie Kostecki/David Russell

Erebus Motorsport

Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso

Team 18

Scott Pye/TBA

Team 18

Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard

CoolDrive Racing

David Reynolds/Matt Payne

Penrite Racing

Lee Holdsworth/Matt Campbell

Penrite Racing

Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood

Brad Jones Racing

Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore

Brad Jones Racing

Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys

Brad Jones Racing

Jack Smith/TBA

Brad Jones Racing

Chris Pither/Cameron Hill

PremiAir Racing

James Golding/TBA

PremiAir Racing

Jack Le Brocq/Aaron Seton

Matt Stone Racing

Todd Hazelwood/TBA

Matt Stone Racing

Craig Lowndes/Declan Fraser

Triple Eight (wildcard)

Richie Stanaway/Greg Murphy

Erebus Motorsport (wildcard)

Matt Chahda/Jaylyn Robotham

Matt Chahda Motorsport (wildcard)


Anderson Motorsport (wildcard)

Related News