Penrite Racing one-two in Sandown warm-up

17 Sep
David Reynolds has led Matt Payne in a Penrite Racing-one-two in the Sunday morning warm-up
  • Click here for Warm Up results

  • Reynolds, Payne complete Penrite Ford one-two

  • Ojeda, Estre run off the road in short session

  • Pole man Brown 21st, Kostecki eighth

David Reynolds has led Matt Payne in a Penrite Racing-one-two in the Sunday morning warm-up session ahead of Sunday's Penrite Oil Sandown 500.

The outgoing Penrite Racing driver put his #26 Mustang to the top of the timesheets early in the 20-minute session a 1:09.1334s, with Payne 0.2215s down in second.

Reynolds and co-driver Garth Tander, the 2016 Sandown 500 winner, will start eighth in this afternoon’s race, just behind the Payne/Estre Ford.

Teams used the session to give both their primary and co-driver seat time, as well as taking the chance to complete driver change pit stop practice.

The Chaz Mostert/Lee Holdsworth #25 Mobil 1 Optus Mustang was third, 0.2954s down, with Cameron Hill/Jaylyn Robotham (#35 Truck Assist Camaro) and Scott Pye/Warren Luff (#20 Toyota Forklifts Camaro) rounding out the top five.

Highlights: Warm Up 2023 Penrite Oil Sandown 500

The pole-sitting #9 Coca-Cola Camaro of Will Brown/Jack Perkins was 21st, with the Brodie Kostecki/David Russell entry eighth.

Drivers and teams were again greeted to warm conditions in Melbourne, with Pye setting the early running with a 1:09.6005s.

Five-time Bathurst winner Tander was quickest next time by with a 1:09.2036s before Reynolds took over and clocked a 1:09.1334s.

As cars cycled around the historic 3.1km circuit, teams completed pit stop rehearsal, completing refuelling, brake pad changes, and driver change practice.

That didn’t ensure a lack of action with Jayden Ojeda (#34 Truck Assist Camaro) and Estre both encountering offs.

Anton De Pasquale/Tony D’Alberto (#11 Shell V-Power Mustang) were sixth ahead of Jack Le Brocq/Ojeda, Kostecki/Russell, Cam Waters/James Moffat (#6 Monster Energy Mustang), and James Courtney/Zak Best (#5 Snowy River Caravans Mustang) rounding out the top 10.

The 500km race will start at 2:15pm AEST.

Related News