No panic over final BJR co-drive

12 Aug 2022
'I'm comfortable we'll have a terrific co-driver'

Brad Jones Racing is comfortable it will lock in a "terrific" co-driver for Jack Smith.

The slot alongside Smith at BJR is one of two vacancies, the other at Team 18, yet to be confirmed.

Both teams will announce their co-drivers in the coming weeks.

In the interim, BJR has called on Craig Lowndes to steer the #4 SCT Logisitics Commodore next week.

Lowndes, who will race a Triple Eight wildcard in Bathurst, will drive the car in the Sandown Additional Driver session.

"We’re progressing with conversations about what our co-driver looks like," Andrew Jones told Supercars.com.

"It would be absolutely terrific to be able to have something to announce.

"I’m a big believer in process and system. I’m wired to follow that.

"Until we go through all parts of that and tick them off along the way, it’ll play out."

Jones reiterated David Wall, who impressed for the team last year, remains the preference.

Wall is currently fighting for the Porsche Carrera Cup title.

A veteran of 70 Supercars rounds and 152 races, Wall was parachuted into BJR’s line-up at the 11th hour last year.

Wall replaced Ash Walsh, who was unable to compete due to border restrictions.


Smith and Wall combined well and drove a smart race to 17th in last year’s Great Race.

Wall impressed for BJR last year

Wall previously co-drove for BJR in 2010 and 2011, and was one of its full-time drivers in 2012 and 2013.

Jones said there was no set date for an announcement for the #4, but reiterated the team is working on getting the best driver possible.

"There’s no set timeline but I’m comfortable we’ll have a terrific co-driver," Jones said.

"David did a terrific job for us last year, ultimately our preference is to get him back in.

"We do have ‘B’ and ‘C’ plans should that not work out.

"But we’re going through everything methodically, and it’ll take care of itself."

Co-drivers will tackle a 30-minute dedicated session at Sandown next Friday.

Tickets for the Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint are on sale now.

2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 combinations



Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander

Red Bull Ampol Racing

Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto

Shell V-Power Racing Team

Will Davison/Alex Davison

Shell V-Power Racing Team

James Courtney/Zane Goddard

Tickford Racing

Cam Waters/James Moffat

Tickford Racing

Thomas Randle/Zak Best

Tickford Racing

Jake Kostecki/Kurt Kostecki

Tickford Racing

Nick Percat/Warren Luff

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Chaz Mostert/Fabian Coulthard

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Will Brown/Jack Perkins

Erebus Motorsport

Brodie Kostecki/David Russell

Erebus Motorsport

Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso

Team 18

Scott Pye/TBA

Team 18

Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard

CoolDrive Racing

David Reynolds/Matt Payne

Penrite Racing

Lee Holdsworth/Matt Campbell

Penrite Racing

Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood

Brad Jones Racing

Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore

Brad Jones Racing

Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys

Brad Jones Racing

Jack Smith/TBA

Brad Jones Racing

Chris Pither/Cameron Hill

PremiAir Racing

James Golding/Dylan O'Keeffe

PremiAir Racing

Jack Le Brocq/Aaron Seton

Matt Stone Racing

Todd Hazelwood/Jayden Ojeda

Matt Stone Racing

Craig Lowndes/Declan Fraser

Triple Eight (wildcard)

Richie Stanaway/Greg Murphy

Erebus Motorsport (wildcard)

Matt Chahda/Jaylyn Robotham

Matt Chahda Motorsport (wildcard)


Anderson Motorsport (wildcard)

Related News