Never forget your first: Maiden wins for active drivers

11 Feb 2021
You never forget your first win, and these 14 drivers won't

Of the 24 drivers on the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship grid, 14 are winners.

Nearly half of the 14 have won multiple races, with two drivers claiming breakthrough triumphs last season.

The 14 winners combine for 278 race victories, with Jamie Whincup representing 44 per cent of that haul.

Whincup was the first of the group to register his maiden race victory, with Anton De Pasquale the most recent.

De Pasquale was just 10 years old when Whincup broke through on the streets of Adelaide.

Will another driver claim his maiden championship race victory in 2021?

The season-opening Repco Mt Panorama 500 would be a brilliant place to start, with tickets for the event on sale now.

Ahead of the new season, Supercars.com lists active drivers' first tastes of victory.

Jamie Whincup: Race 2, Adelaide 2006

Jamie Whincup has won a record 122 races, and it's nearly 15 years to the day since he recorded his very first victory, which came in Adelaide.

On his Triple Eight debut, a baby-faced Whincup survived a chaotic race to defeat Kelly brothers Todd and Rick to claim a remarkable Adelaide 500 crown.

Mark Winterbottom: Sandown 500, 2006

Mark Winterbottom's first race win came at the 2006 Sandown 500, with co-driver Jason Bright holding off a fast-finishing Rick Kelly.

En route to third overall, Winterbottom also gained second place round finishes at Pukekohe and Surfers Paradise, and won a sprint race at Phillip Island.

Will Davison: Race 2, Sydney 2008

In his third full-time campaign with Dick Johnson Racing, Will Davison clinched victory in the second race of the weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park, formerly known as Eastern Creek.

Sixth in the third and final race was enough to clinch overall round honours. Davison also won a race at Winton later that year.

James Courtney: Race 1, Ipswich 2008

James Courtney finally broke through for a maiden race win at Queensland Raceway for Stone Brothers Racing.

He finished sixth in Race 2, with second in Race 3 enough to finish third overall for the weekend.

Shane van Gisbergen: Race 6, Hamilton 2011

The first of Shane van Gisbergen's 40 career wins fittingly came on home soil, with the Kiwi defeating Lee Holdsworth in the Hamilton finale in 2011.

Then aged just 21, van Gisbergen announced himself with a great drive, and won at Darwin later in the season in a season he finished fourth overall.

Nick Percat: Bathurst 1000, 2011

First Bathurst, first win. Nick Percat's dream came true in a big way in 2011 when he paired with Garth Tander and the Holden Racing Team for a famous victory.

The son of a Holden man, Percat nearly crashed at Griffin's Bend midway through the race, but was consigned to a nervous wait in the pits as Tander defied a rampant Craig Lowndes to win the Great Race.

Fabian Coulthard: Race 3, Tasmania 2013


After years of trying, Fabian Coulthard finally won a points-paying race at Symmons Plains. It came in a thrilling 60/60 sprint, with the Brad Jones Racing driver overtaking Whincup early in the second stanza.

He returned on the Sunday to win again, and claimed a number of brilliant victories for the team afterwards, notably in Adelaide in 2015.

Chaz Mostert: Race 24, Ipswich 2013

Fresh-faced rookie Chaz Mostert helped DJR to its first win in three years during a dramatic finale at Queensland Raceway. He recorded a two-second victory over Will Davison, with Mark Winterbottom and David Reynolds making it a Ford top-four sweep.

Incredibly, he became the 10th different winner of the season, and was the least experienced of the bunch.

David Reynolds: Race 31, Gold Coast 2013

Gold Coast flashback: Reynolds' win 2013

David Reynolds backed up his morning pole position, and made the most of late drama for James Courtney, to claim victory alongside Dean Canto on the Surfers streets.

It ended a long wait for then-28-year-old Reynolds, who benefited from a steering arm failure for Courtney with less than 20 laps remaining.

Tim Slade: Race 10, Winton 2016

In his 227th career start, the planets aligned for Tim Slade, who cruised to a maiden victory at Winton for BJR. 

Not keen to wait as long for win No. 2, he returned the next day and completed an incredible weekend sweep.

Cameron Waters: Sandown 500, 2017

Sandown flashback: Waters and Stanaway win Sandown 500

Cameron Waters may have won his first solo race last year, but his first came on the big stage at Sandown in 2017.

The Mildura-born ace defied a racy Scott McLaughlin to claim a truncated race, pairing with Richie Stanaway to win Tickford's second Sandown classic in three years.

Scott Pye: Race 5, Albert Park 2018

Scott Pye's long journey to Supercars glory culminated in a stunning win under fading light and in wet conditions at Albert Park.

The margin behind to Jamie Whincup was just 0.261s, but it was enough for Pye to clinch the first win for the revamped Walkinshaw Andretti United operation.

Jack Le Brocq: Race 12, Sydney 2020

Best Of 2020: Le Brocq's first Supercars win

In his 85th career start, Jack Le Brocq somehow emerged on top of a four-car fight for victory at Sydney Motorsport Park.

With Andre Heimgartner, Todd Hazelwood and David Reynolds squabbling behind him, Le Brocq kept his cool and rewarded Tickford after the Ford team handed him a full-time seat for 2020.

Anton de Pasquale: Race 13, Darwin 2020

The 2020 season logged a second new winner in as many starts when Anton De Pasquale and Erebus Motorsport combined for a brilliant victory in Darwin.

Erebus took a punt on De Pasquale in 2018, and it would be over two years before he would hit the top step. He did so amid a chaotic race, before holding off James Courtney to seal the win.

Related News