Mostert 'out of words' with Sheene Medal win

27 Nov
'You’re only as good as the people behind you... super honoured we got voted for this'
  • Chaz Mostert awarded Barry Sheene Medal for the first time

  • Barry Sheene Medal is Supercars’ ‘best and fairest’ award

  • WAU star Mostert finished fourth in the 2023 Supercars season

Chaz Mostert was "out of words" to be awarded the Barry Sheene Medal, Supercars’ ‘best and fairest’ award, for the first time.

The Walkinshaw Andretti United driver was honoured at the 2023 Supercars Gala Awards in Adelaide on Monday night.

Mostert, a two-time Bathurst winner, finished fourth in the 2023 Repco Supercars Championship, and scored six podiums this season.

The Barry Sheene Medal has been awarded each year since the former motorcycle racing great turned Supercars commentator passed away death in 2003.

mostert sheene medal win 1

The medal is voted on by the media, and recognises a driver who displays outstanding leadership, media interaction, character, personality, fan appeal and sportsmanship throughout the season.

“This is amazing,” the 31-year-old said.

“Looking at Barry Sheene and his life, the amount of interviews you see of him on YouTube… I never got to meet him, but I like to have fun with the racing.

“You’re only as good as the people behind you, [partner] Riarne for me has been fantastic. Super honoured we got voted for this.

“I'm a little bit out of words.”

The 2023 season was Mostert’s 11th as a full-time Supercars driver since being recruited as a 21-year-old by Dick Johnson Racing in 2013.

The following season, Mostert took out the Great Race for a first time after a thrilling comeback from last place, before adding a second win in 2021 with Lee Holdsworth.

Mostert follows Holdsworth as a Sheene Medal winner, with the former the first driver from a Walkinshaw team to win the award since Will Davison in 2009.

Barry Sheene Medal winners

Five time winner

Craig Lowndes (2005, 2006, 2011, 2013, 2015)


Three-time winners

Jamie Whincup (2007, 2008, 2021)

Scott McLaughlin (2014, 2016, 2020)

Two-time winners

Marcos Ambrose (2003, 2004)

David Reynolds (2017, 2018)

One-time winners

Will Davison (2009)

James Courtney (2010)

Mark Winterbottom (2012)

Shane van Gisbergen (2019)

Lee Holdsworth (2022)

Chaz Mostert (2023)

Supercars App

Related News