How the new qualifying format works

04 Apr 2018
Elimination sessions for Symmons Plains and Barbagallo Raceway
2 mins by James Pavey

This weekend’s Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint will mark the debut of an all-new ARMOR ALL Qualifying format for Supercars.

At Symmons Plains on Saturday and Sunday and Barbagallo Raceway next month, drivers will tackle three-stage, elimination sessions to set the grid.

Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint | Tickets | Info

The circuits - both 2.4km long - are the shortest on the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship calendar, with the new system designed to avoid traffic-related incidents.

With practice results factored in before three 10-minute blocks, the format takes cues from the ones used in MotoGP and Formula 1.

Including five-minute breaks between each segment, the 40-minute sessions start at 12:55pm on Saturday and 11:05am on Sunday at Symmons Plains.

How it works


The top 10 drivers in Friday’s combined practice order will skip the first phase on Saturday, earning a direct path to Qualifying 2.


For Sunday qualifying, the same applies to an additional 20-minute practice session that morning.

Qualifying 1

The drivers that finished 11th to 26th in the applicable practice standings hit the track for 10 minutes.

From that group of 16, the fastest six progress to Qualifying 2, while the others fill positions 17th to 26th.

Qualifying 2

The top 10 drivers from practice join the action, with the fastest six from Qualifying 1.

From the times set in this 10-minute segment, the top 10 progress to Qualifying 3, while the others fill positions 11th to 16th.

Qualifying 3

The top 10 drivers from Qualifying 2 fight it out for ARMOR ALL Pole Position, setting the first five rows of the grid in the process.

Related News