Record-breaking Warren defeats BJR trio at Phillip Island

  • Supercars Eseries
  • |
  • 15/09/2021
  • By James Pavey

Dayne Warren has continued his perfect record in the Cash Converters Supercars Eseries with victory at Phillip Island.

Warren led from his fifth-straight Swyftx Pole Position to claim his fourth win of the season, and fifth in a row dating back to 2020.

The end margin was a scant 0.587s back to Jackson Souslin-Harlow, who headed Brad Jones Racing teammates Madison Down and Jake Burton.

All told, the top four were covered by just 1.134s.

It was a nightmare race for title contender Jarrad Filsell, who after a slow pit stop, could only finish fourth.

Walkinshaw Andretti United driver Warren earlier clinched his fifth straight pole, tying the record set by former teammate Josh Rogers.

Warren won the start, with Souslin-Harlow slotting into second.

A slow-starting Jordan Caruso dropped from third to ninth, before he was turned around at Turn 4.

By lap 4, Warren led Souslin-Harlow, Down and Burton, with Filsell hanging on in fifth.

Warren blinked first and stopped at the end of lap 5, with the BJR trio and Filsell stopping on the following lap.

Souslin-Harlow, Down and Burton emerged behind Warren, but a slow stop for Filsell sent the Erebus entry plummeting down the order.

Warren’s lead hovered around a second to Souslin-Harlow, who took his teammates with him in the fight to the series leader.

However, Warren - the winner at the Red Bull Ring, Long Beach and Road America - kept his cool and clinched win No. 4 in 2021.

Matt Stone Racing’s Andrew Gilliam was fifth ahead of Tickford Racing’s Ethan Warren, with the top six covered by just 2.166s.

Warren has jumped out to a 102-point series lead over Souslin-Harlow, with Burton and Filsell 111 and 144 points down respectively.

The Pro Series will return next weekend at Mount Panorama for a Bathurst enduro alongside the All Stars drivers.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter