Triple Eight seals teams' championship

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 04/11/2018
  • By Mitchell Adam

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team has bounced straight back to the top of the Supercars teams' championship, sealing the 2018 crown at Pukekohe.

Roland Dane's squad was triumphant for the first time in 2008, its fifth full season since entering the championship, and was then undefeated from '10-16.

DJR Team Penske ended that run last year, but Triple Eight regrouped to take its ninth teams' title in 2018, with the new ZB Commodore it developed.

Shane van Gisbergen's first and second in the ITM Auckland SuperSprint and fifth and third for Jamie Whincup took its tally to 6,787 points.

That puts it 681 points clear of the Shell Ford squad with only 576 up for grabs at the Coates Hire Newcastle 500 finale on November 23-25.

Earlier this year, Triple Eight moved past Walkinshaw Andretti United – previously HRT and Walkinshaw Racing – as the record holder for most Supercars race wins.

Following van Gisbergen's Saturday victory at Pukekohe, the team has 184 Supercars victories from 477 races.

Van Gisbergen does, though, trail Shell V-Power Racing driver Scott McLaughlin by 14 points in the drivers' standings with one event remaining.

Crucially in the teams' fight, Whincup is third in the championship and McLaughlin's partner Fabian Coulthard seventh, that pair split by 725 points.

Tickford Racing's Chaz Mostert/Mark Winterbottom pairing is third in the teams' championship, 1,413 points behind DJRTP.

Brad Jones Racing, Erebus Motorsport and WAU will head to Newcastle covered by 53 points in the fight for fourth.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter