Supercars pitlane order set for 2019

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 11/12/2018
  • By Stefan Bartholomaeus

There will be a new order – and new pairings – in the Supercars pitlane in 2019.

Supercars has confirmed the garage line-up for the new season, which is based on the 2018 teams’ championship result.

However, minor adjustments are always required for grouped entries, and partnerships formed between three-car and single-car teams.

Triple Eight takes up the first two garages, having won the 2018 teams’ title after losing out to DJR Team Penske in '17.

DJRTP only falls two garage places though, with Triple Eight’s axing of its third car sending its previous partner – Tekno Autosports – down the field.

With Matt Stone Racing continuing its partnership with the Brad Jones Racing-run Tim Blanchard Racing entry, Tekno has been paired with Team 18.

The two single-car, Triple Eight customer squads will share the boom and bay at pit entry; the Mark Winterbottom-driven Team 18 ZB in the end garage.

Under Supercars’ limited personnel rules, the crews for the two teams must also work together during pitstops.

23Red shared with Team 18 in 2018

Team 18 had been paired with 23Red in 2018, but the Phil Munday-owned entry has moved in as Tickford Racing’s fourth car.

With Tickford's lead pairing third in the 2018 teams’ championship, the end of the Triple Eight/Tekno alliance means the Ford squad moves one boom up in the pitlane.

Others to improve their position include Erebus (from boom seven to five), Walkinshaw Andretti United (boom 10 to six) and Brad Jones Racing (11 to seven).

The Blanchard/MSR pair is aligned to BJR, so also moves up, from boom 12 to eight.

Kelly Racing’s four-car squad all move a boom backwards, from 8/9 to 9/10, while Garry Rogers Motorsport is a big loser, dropping from six to 11.

There is one less pit boom in the 2019 order due to the changes at Triple Eight and Tickford Racing.

Being positioned high in the pitlane order is generally considered desirable, impacting practice and qualifying sessions, as well as races.

Triple Eight manager Mark Dutton said after winning this year’s teams' title that some of its recent pit issues hammered home the importance of having the first garage.

1 Triple Eight Race Engineering
Triple Eight Race Engineering
2 DJR Team Penske
DJR Team Penske
3 Tickford Racing
Tickford Racing
4 Tickford Racing
23Red Racing
5 Erebus Motorsport
Erebus Motorsport
6 Walkinshaw Andretti United
Walkinshaw Andretti United
7 Brad Jones Racing
Brad Jones Racing
8 Tim Blanchard Racing
Matt Stone Racing
9 Kelly Racing
Kelly Racing
10  Kelly Racing
Kelly Racing
11 Garry Rogers Motorsport
Garry Rogers Motorsport
12 Tekno Autosports
Team 18
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter