Sunday race's seven-year Bathurst 1000 first

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 06/12/2021
  • By James Pavey

The late puncture for Shane van Gisbergen ended a run for pit lane's two biggest teams at Mount Panorama.

Sunday's Repco Bathurst 1000 podium didn't feature a car from either Red Bull Ampol Racing or the Shell V-Power Racing Team.

Walkinshaw Andretti United (Chaz Mostert/Lee Holdsworth), Tickford Racing (Cameron Waters/James Moffat) and Erebus Motorsport (Brodie Kostecki/David Russell) completed Sunday's podium.

Van Gisbergen loomed as Mostert's closest challenger in the final stanza of the race before he was dumped to 18th following a puncture.

It ensured neither Triple Eight nor Dick Johnson Racing had a car on the Great Race podium.

The last time that happened was in 2014; that day, Mostert and Paul Morris won for Ford Performance Racing, which is now operated as Tickford Racing.

The Kelly-run Nissan Motorsport and Walkinshaw Racing finished second and third.

Like he did on Sunday, Moffat finished second, having recovered to the podium after two run-ins with Griffin's Bend.

Triple Eight cars won the race in 2015, 2018 and 2020 and finished second in 2016 and 2019.

DJR Fords finished third in 2017 and 2018, and won in 2019.

You have to go back to 2009 to find another Bathurst podium sans Triple Eight and DJR; that day, Garth Tander and Will Davison won for the Holden Racing Team from pole.

That feat was achieved by Mostert and Holdsworth on Sunday, with Mostert lowering the lap record on Saturday.

The 13-event 2022 Repco Supercars Championship will commence in Newcastle next year. Tickets for the event are on sale now.

The 13-round draft calendar was released on Sunday.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter