Rookie sensations: Supercars' youngest-ever record holders

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 02/09/2021
  • By James Pavey

Teenager Broc Feeney has been thrown the keys to race-winning machinery by Triple Eight Race Engineering.

Current Super2 points leader Feeney will be 19 years old when he makes his full-time debut in the 2022 Repco Supercars Championship.

Teenagers on the grid are nothing new, but seldom do they hit the jackpot before they finish their teenage years.

Reaching the top in his first campaign as a full-time driver will be a tough ask, but armed with a proven package, Feeney will have a great chance regardless.

At the time of publication, Feeney was aged 18 years, 10 months and 15 days. has listed some of the 'youngest-ever’ markers that will be in Feeney’s sights.

Youngest champion: 21 years, 11 months, 11 days

Lowndes also became the youngest Bathurst winner in 1996 Pic: AN1 Images

An unheralded Craig Lowndes burst onto the scene at the 1994 Bathurst 1000, when he challenged veteran John Bowe for the win.

In 1996, Lowndes won the drivers' title at his first attempt, and set a record which stands to this day.

Lowndes was just shy of his 22nd birthday when he clinched the first of three championships.

Feeney will be 22 years old before the 2024 season is out, meaning seasons 2022 and 2023 remain his only chances to steal Lowndes’ record.

Youngest race winner: 19 years, 10 months, three days

Scott McLaughlin reset a number of ‘youngest-ever’ records in his time, and remains the youngest ever Super2 champion.

McLaughlin earned a full-time call-up to the main game by Garry Rogers in 2013, and won on home soil at Pukekohe.

With the win, McLaughlin took the record from Todd Kelly, who was 20 years, eight months and two days old when he won in Canberra in 2000.

Feeney will need to win a race before August 21, 2022 to take the record from McLaughlin.

Youngest pole sitter: 20 years, nine months, 27 days

McLaughlin also holds the youngest-ever pole-sitter record.

In his first season aboard a GRM Volvo, McLaughlin claimed his maiden ARMOR ALL Pole Position at Winton, his first of 10 poles in 2014.

McLaughlin became the key one-lap man in the coming years, claiming a staggering 76 poles between 2014 and 2020.

Only Whincup has more poles, with Feeney’s predecessor clinching his 90th and 91st career poles in Townsville in July.

Feeney has until August 14, 2023 to become the youngest-ever main game pole-sitter.

Youngest Bathurst winner: 20 years, eight months, 20 days

Pic: AN1 Images

A year after Feeney was born, 2006 series champion Rick Kelly became the youngest Bathurst 1000 winner.

Kelly’s first of two straight Bathurst wins with Greg Murphy came when he was aged just 20 years, eight months and 25 days.

Feeney will hit that age on July 7, 2023, meaning the 2021 and 2022 Great Races are his only chances to undercut Kelly.

This year’s Bathurst 1000 will be Feeney’s second Great Race start, with the teen combining with Russell Ingall in a Supercheap Auto-backed Triple Eight wildcard.

He turned 18 on his Bathurst debut last year, and finished 10th alongside James Courtney.

Youngest starter: 16 years, eight months, 17 days

The record that Feeney can’t break - and likely won’t ever be broken by another driver in future - belongs to Alex Rullo.

Lucas Dumbrell Motorsports driver Rullo wasn’t even 17 years old when he made his debut four years ago.

Rullo was aged just 16 years, eight months and 17 days when he started the Adelaide opener in 2017.

He reset the record held by Paul Dumbrell, who was 79 days older when he made his maiden start in 1999.

Rullo is a noted ‘youngest-ever’ talent; he was only 14 years old when he became the youngest driver to win a CAMS National event, claiming round two of the 2015 V8 Touring Car Series at Winton.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter