Reynolds: I'm not anticipating any change

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 20/08/2022
  • By James Pavey

David Reynolds is keen to remain with Penrite Racing, saying he isn’t "anticipating any change".

Penrite Racing has yet to lock in its 2023 driver line-up.

Reynolds and Lee Holdsworth have helped push the team back to the front this season.

There will be change, however, with Grove junior Matt Payne "definitely" in for next season.

Reynolds, who has taken six podiums in 2021, is expected to stay for a third season.

His habit of avoiding change is exemplified by long stints at Tickford Racing (four years) and Erebus Motorsport (five years).

"I’m definitely not anticipating any change. I hate change," he said.

Six podiums and counting for Reynolds this season

"I’m not a big fan of change, and the formula is working.

"We’ve got results, and next year’s quite a big step for the whole category.

"Consistency matters."

Holdsworth, who will celebrate 500 races on Saturday, has been linked to a move away from the team.

The 2021 Bathurst winner joined Grove Racing this season, and has been linked to Blanchard Racing Team.

BRT incumbent Tim Slade, meanwhile, is tipped to move to PremiAir Racing.

Speaking on Thursday, Holdsworth indicated he is keen to stay on for the Gen3 era.

Reynolds and Holdsworth are chasing Penrite Racing’s first win of the season.

The former, who last won in 2018, believes a victory is just around the corner.

"We’ve had six podiums, which is humongous result for our team considering last year," Reynolds said.

"The win is hopefully not too far away, but it’s stiff competition out there.

"Everyone brings their A-game, and we need to be better on the day.

"Everything needs to go in out favour, but anything’s possible."

Reynolds and Holdsworth will hit the track for ARMOR ALL Qualifying at 12:50pm local time at Sandown.

2023 Repco Supercars Championship grid (as of August 20, 2023)

Driver Team
Broc Feeney Red Bull Ampol Racing
Shane van Gisbergen Red Bull Ampol Racing
Will Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team
Anton De Pasquale Shell V-Power Racing Team
James Courtney Tickford Racing
Cam Waters Tickford Racing
Thomas Randle Tickford Racing
Jake Kostecki Tickford Racing
Nick Percat Walkinshaw Andretti United
Chaz Mostert Walkinshaw Andretti United
Will Brown Erebus Motorsport
Brodie Kostecki Erebus Motorsport
Scott Pye Team 18
TBA Team 18
TBA CoolDrive Racing
Matt Payne Penrite Racing
TBA Penrite Racing
Andre Heimgartner Brad Jones Racing
TBA Brad Jones Racing
TBA Brad Jones Racing
TBA Brad Jones Racing
TBA PremiAir Racing
TBA PremiAir Racing
Jack Le Brocq Matt Stone Racing
Todd Hazelwood Matt Stone Racing
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter