Peter Brock Trophy winners to drive famous Brock cars

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 01/10/2016
  • By Supercars

The 2016 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 will pay tribute to one of the legends of Australian Motorsport and 'King of the Mountain' Peter Brock.

Next week’s race will celebrate a decade since the Peter Brock Trophy was named in honour of the nine-time Bathurst winner in 2006.

A number of Brock’s famous cars from across his career will be on display at the event, with a selection of them hitting the track at 10am on Sunday morning for the ‘King of the Mountain’ Parade.

All 11 winners of the Peter Brock Trophy will take part in the parade, each driving a significant vehicle from throughout Brock’s forty-year racing career.

Peter Brock’s brother Phil will lead the parade in a tribute of the 1983 Bathurst 1000 winning #25 HDT Commodore he shared with John Harvey until it was commandeered by Peter and Larry Perkins when the #05 Commodore expired.


Five-time Peter Brock Trophy winner Craig Lowndes will pilot Brock’s first Bathurst winner, the #28C 1972 HDT LJ XU-1 Torana, whilst Lowndes’ teammate and four-time Peter Brock Trophy winner Jamie Whincup will get behind the wheel of the car that started the Bathurst Brock legend, the 1969 #43D Monaro GTS 350.


Also appearing in the parade will be a tribute of Brock’s second Bathurst winner, the 1975 Gown-Hindaugh Torana L34, to be driven by six-time Bathurst winner Mark Skaife.


Cars from Brock’s post-Holden career will appear, including the freshly restored 1989 Mobil Ford Sierra driven by reigning Supercars Champion Mark Winterbottom, and the 1988 E30 BMW M3 that will be piloted by 2014 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 winner Paul Morris.

A tribute of the Austin A30 that ignited Brock’s racing career will be steered by young-gun Chaz Mostert, and his final circuit racing car – a 1952 Holden 48/215 that he raced at the 2006 Goodwood Revival will be driven by 2011 winner Nick Percat.

The full list of cars, and drivers is below.

1956 Austin A30 - Chaz Mostert

1948 Holden 48/215 – Nick Percat

1969 HDT Monaro GTS 350 - Jamie Whincup

1972 HDT Torana GTR XU1 - Craig Lowndes

1974 HDT Torana L34 - Steven Richards

1975 Gown Hindaugh Torana L34 – Mark Skaife

1977 Bill Patterson Torana A9X - Will Davison

1983 HDT Commodore #25 Tribute – Phil Brock

1986 Mobil HDT VK Commodore - Garth Tander

1988 Mobil BMW M3 - Paul Morris

1990 Mobil Ford Sierra – Mark Winterbottom

1996 Mobil HRT Commodore – Paul Dumbrell

The Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 will be held from 6-9 October. Tickets are available at

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter