No result for Gold Coast Race 27

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 21/10/2018
  • By Mitchell Adam

Sunday's second leg of the Vodafone Gold Coast 600 has been declared a non-event, with no points to be awarded, after racing was unable to resume amid a heavy storm.

Wild weather lashed south-east Queensland into the afternoon, in what was due to be Race 27 of the 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship and the PIRTEK Enduro Cup finale.

What was originally a 102-lap race was run in overcast-but largely dry conditions until lap 29, when the heavens opened.

A Safety Car called for Paul Dumbrell's crash was interrupted on lap 37 only by the suspension of the race for the first time.

Standing water and rivers running across the track surface were the chief concerns, and a second attempt to restart proceedings only lasted another five laps behind the Safety Car.

The race was suspended again at 4:10pm local time, as the conditions further deteriorated.

It was ultimately cancelled at 4:25pm, 4:48pm AEST having been the time certain finish, declared a non-race with no points awarded.

As a result, Scott McLaughlin will head to the ITM Auckland SuperSprint on November 2-4 with a 14-point championship lead over fellow Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen, with four races remaining.

Craig Lowndes and Steven Richards are also the winners of the 2018 PIRTEK Enduro Cup, by 87 points over McLaughlin and Alex Premat.

After the race was suspended for the first time, drivers headed back out on lap 38 behind the Vodafone Safety Car, led by Anton De Pasquale as one of six drivers to have made a single pitstop.

From that group, Garry Jacobson and Dean Fiore pitted at the end of the first tour, handing over to Rick Kelly and Michael Caruso.

Others to make pitstops over the ensuing laps included Richie Stanaway, Cameron Waters, Todd Hazelwood and the Alex Rullo/Simona De Silvestro Nissan.

De Pasquale, Alex Davison and Aaren Russell were the top three on lap 42, when the race was suspended for a second time.

To that point, drivers had been creeping towards lap 51, the required 50 percent distance for championship points to be awarded.

James Courtney was next in the queue, having completed his driver change with Jack Perkins quicker than Chaz Mostert and James Moffat to take what was the race lead.

When the race was called, McLaughlin/Premat were sixth, ahead of David Reynolds/Luke Youlden, van Gisbergen/Earl Bamber, Lowndes/Richards and Garth Tander/Chris Pither.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter