Erebus retains Kostecki/Russell pairing

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 08/03/2023
  • By James Pavey

David Russell will remain as Brodie Kostecki’s co-driver at Erebus Motorsport, the team has confirmed.

Russell first paired with Kostecki in 2021, and the duo duly raced to third in the Repco Bathurst 1000.

The nearly backed it up in 2022, only for Kostecki to be passed by Cam Waters late in the race.

In two years, Kostecki and Russell have formed one of the strongest pairings on the grid, with 2023 to feature two enduros.

The two drivers will share Kostecki’s #99 Coca-Cola Camaro at the Penrite Oil Sandown 500 on September 15-17.

They will then attempt to help Erebus to a second Bathurst victory on October 5-8.

It comes after Erebus announced Jack Perkins will again race with Will Brown, ensuring Erebus has an unchanged line-up for a second straight season.

Third in the 2021 Great Race

"I definitely enjoy my time with the whole Erebus team so I’m very happy to be back again for a third year,” Russell said.

“To have the continuity of working with the same driver, the same engineering group and the same team, it adds an extra level of confidence and means we can get down to work straight away.

“Brodie’s an incredible driver and he’s very talented so for me to be there and support him in these two big races is great.”

Russell also cited the return of the Sandown 500 as key to his motivation for breaking through with Erebus in 2023.

“The Sandown 500 is such a nostalgic race for many and one that I’ve been a part of personally for a number of years,” Russell said.

“It’s like a pre-run before the grand final and it’s good to iron out the little basics and get some practice in the lead up to Bathurst, especially with the introduction of Gen3.

“Part of being a professional driver is being able to get into something new and figuring out what makes a car tick so you can go fast in it.

"I’m really looking forward to turning my first laps in the new car.”

Confirmed 2023 enduro combinations

Driver/Co-driver Team
Broc Feeney/TBA Red Bull Ampol Racing
Shane van Gisbergen/Richie Stanaway Red Bull Ampol Racing
Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto Shell V-Power Racing Team
Will Davison/Alex Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team
TBA/Garry Jacobson Tickford Racing
TBA/James Moffat Tickford Racing
TBA/Zak Best Tickford Racing
TBA/Tyler Everingham Tickford Racing
Nick Percat/Fabian Coulthard Walkinshaw Andretti United
Chaz Mostert/Lee Holdsworth Walkinshaw Andretti United
Will Brown/Jack Perkins Erebus Motorsport
Brodie Kostecki/David Russell Erebus Motorsport
Mark Winterbottom/TBA Team 18
Scott Pye/TBA Team 18
Todd Hazelwood/TBA CoolDrive Racing
TBA/Garth Tander Penrite Racing
TBA/Kévin Estre Penrite Racing
Andre Heimgartner/TBA Brad Jones Racing
Bryce Fullwood/TBA Brad Jones Racing
Macauley Jones/TBA Brad Jones Racing
Jack Smith/TBA Brad Jones Racing
Tim Slade/TBA PremiAir Racing
James Golding/TBA PremiAir Racing
Jack Le Brocq/TBA Matt Stone Racing
Cameron Hill/TBA Matt Stone Racing
Craig Lowndes/Zane Goddard Triple Eight (wildcard)

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter