Dumbrell hands Whincup P1 start

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 17/09/2016
  • By Kassie Gadeke

Paul Dumbrell has handed Jamie Whincup a start from P1 in the final ARMOR ALL Race for the Grid.

The star co-driver got the jump on Steve Owen in the Supercheap Auto Racing Falcon and built his lead, which blew out to seven seconds by the end of the 20-lap race.

There was a collision at the treacherous turn one and it was defending champion Mark Winterbottom’s co-driver Dean Canto who was punished with a drive-through penalty, after contact knocked Tony D’Alberto (with Scott Pye) and Steven Richards (with Craig Lowndes) off the track.

Richards leaves Championship contender Craig Lowndes to start 18th in the next sprint, while Mark Winterbottom will be 25th.

Owen held down second easily but a late battle built for third with Warren Luff (Garth Tander) putting pressure on Luke Youlden (Fabian Coulthard), and finally taking the spot on lap 19 of 20.  

Jonathon Webb (Will Davison) also snuck through, for fourth, leaving the DJR Team Penske car to finish top five.  

The Volvos followed, with Alex Premat (Shane van Gisbergen) keeping it clean and sailing home in eighth.

Click here for full results.

At the end of the coverage, Canto was seen apologising to D’Alberto in the DJR Team Penske garage.

The top 10 starters for the ARMOR ALL Race for the Grid Two is:

1. Jamie Whincup
2. Chaz Mostert
3. Garth Tander
4. Will Davison
5. Fabian Coulthard
6. Scott McLaughlin
7. James Moffat
8. Shane van Gisbergen
9. James Courtney
10. Cameron Waters.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter