BJR confirms unchanged enduro line-up

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 25/05/2023
  • By James Pavey

Brad Jones Racing will field an unchanged co-driver line-up for this year’s two enduro races, with Porsche star Jaxon Evans returning.

BJR has four cars in its stable, for Andre Heimgartner, Bryce Fullwood, Jack Smith and Macauley Jones.

As it was in 2022, Dale Wood will partner Heimgartner in the #8 R&J Batteries entry.

Fellow veteran Dean Fiore returns with Fullwood, and Jordan Boys will race with Jones.

The coup is the retention of Evans, who made his Bathurst 1000 debut alongside Smith last October.

It leaves four vacancies on the 2023 enduro grid — both Nulon Racing entries, Cameron Hill's Matt Stone Racing Camaro and Todd Hazelwood’s CoolDrive Racing Mustang.

Kiwi racer Evans is a contracted Porsche driver, and races internationally in the IMSA SportsCar Championship and ADAC GT Masters, among other categories.

Due to other racing commitments, Evans won’t attend BJR’s upcoming test day at Winton next week.

All four drivers will be able to head to Bathurst with confidence in the new Gen3 Camaros, given the enduro season will commence at the Penrite Oil Sandown 500.

"I’m really excited to be heading back to the Supercars Championship, alongside Jack and the SCT Logistics crew,” Evans said.

"Last year's event was a massive learning curve and a career goal that I was able to tick off.

"The addition of the Sandown 500 hopefully means that, with a little more seat time we will go to the mountain with some confidence.”

Wood has extended with BJR, and will make his sixth Bathurst start with the team and 16th overall.

Heimgartner and Wood have unfinished business, given Wood was involved in an early-race incident last year that left the veteran co-driver in tears.

"I am very excited to be joining BJR again for another two years. It is a place I definitely call and feel at home, I love the team and environment,” Wood said.

"Andre is in great form and am equally excited to jump in the R&J Batteries Gen3 Camaro. It is great Sandown is back on the enduro calendar and I think it gives us a great lead up to Bathurst.”

Fullwood and Fiore raced to ninth last year, with Jones and Boys recovering to 13th after losing a lap due to bowling a wide in the Murray’s Corner sand.

Wood, Boys, and Fiore will join Heimgartner, Fullwood, Jones and Smith in a test at Winton Motor Raceway on May 31.

The enduro season will commence at the Penrite Oil Sandown 500 on September 15-17, followed by the Repco Bathurst 1000 on October 5-8.

The 2023 Repco Supercars Championship will resume at the betr Darwin Triple Crown on June 16-18.

Tickets for the event are on sale now.

2023 enduro combinations (as of May 25, 2023)

Driver/Co-driver Team
Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup Red Bull Ampol Racing
Shane van Gisbergen/Richie Stanaway Red Bull Ampol Racing
Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto Shell V-Power Racing Team
Will Davison/Alex Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team
TBA/Garry Jacobson Tickford Racing
TBA/James Moffat Tickford Racing
TBA/Zak Best Tickford Racing
TBA/Tyler Everingham Tickford Racing
Nick Percat/Fabian Coulthard Walkinshaw Andretti United
Chaz Mostert/Lee Holdsworth Walkinshaw Andretti United
Will Brown/Jack Perkins Erebus Motorsport
Brodie Kostecki/David Russell Erebus Motorsport
Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso Team 18
Scott Pye/Warren Luff Team 18
Todd Hazelwood/TBA CoolDrive Racing
TBA/Garth Tander Penrite Racing
TBA/Kevin Estre Penrite Racing
Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood Brad Jones Racing
Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore Brad Jones Racing
Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys Brad Jones Racing
Jack Smith/Jaxon Evans Brad Jones Racing
Tim Slade/TBA PremiAir Racing
James Golding/TBA PremiAir Racing
Jack Le Brocq/Jayden Ojeda Matt Stone Racing
Cameron Hill/TBA Matt Stone Racing
Craig Lowndes/Zane Goddard Triple Eight (wildcard)
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter