Bathurst grid firms as MSR signs Ojeda

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 09/08/2022
  • By James Pavey

The Repco Bathurst 1000 is nearly complete, with Jayden Ojeda retained by Matt Stone Racing.

Ojeda will race alongside Todd Hazelwood in the #35 Truck Assist Commodore in October.

It will be Ojeda’s third Bathurst start, and start consecutive with MSR.

MSR has now completed its line-up, having locked in Super2 driver Aaron Seton with Jack Le Brocq.

The Ojeda signing leaves just two full-time co-drive vacancies for the October 6-9 event.

Team 18 (Scott Pye) and Brad Jones Racing (Jack Smith) have yet to lock in their final co-drivers.

MSR has again partnered youth with youth

Ojeda joins MSR a more experienced product in the main game, having made two wildcard starts in 2022.

The Sydney-born driver raced at Winton and Darwin in a Walkinshaw Andretti United wildcard.

He is also representing WAU in the ongoing Cash Converters Supercars Eseries.

Hazelwood will make his sixth Bathurst start and third for MSR.

"I am really looking forward to teaming up with Todd Hazelwood at MSR for what will be my second Bathurst 1000 start with the team,” Ojeda said.

"So far, the team has had an awesome year and hopefully we can add to that in October with a great result.

Ojeda on track at Winton in May

"The team has made a massive step forward this year which is really good to see.

"The expansion of personal and resources available is quite clear, and they are getting the results to show for it which has been really good.

"For me, it is really exciting to obviously be teaming up with them again and I look forward to jumping in the car.”

Ojeda will join MSR at a Queensland Raceway test day on Tuesday.

He will take to the #35 Commodore in the Additional Driver session at Sandown next Friday.

The 2022 season will resume at Sandown on August 19-21. Purchase your tickets now.

Tickets for this year's Repco Bathurst 1000 are on sale now.

2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 combinations

Driver/Co-driver Team
Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup Red Bull Ampol Racing
Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander Red Bull Ampol Racing
Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto Shell V-Power Racing Team
Will Davison/Alex Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team
James Courtney/Zane Goddard Tickford Racing
Cam Waters/James Moffat Tickford Racing
Thomas Randle/Zak Best Tickford Racing
Jake Kostecki/Kurt Kostecki Tickford Racing
Nick Percat/Warren Luff Walkinshaw Andretti United
Chaz Mostert/Fabian Coulthard Walkinshaw Andretti United
Will Brown/Jack Perkins Erebus Motorsport
Brodie Kostecki/David Russell Erebus Motorsport
Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso Team 18
Scott Pye/TBA Team 18
Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard CoolDrive Racing
David Reynolds/Matt Payne Penrite Racing
Lee Holdsworth/Matt Campbell Penrite Racing
Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood Brad Jones Racing
Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore Brad Jones Racing
Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys Brad Jones Racing
Jack Smith/TBA Brad Jones Racing
Chris Pither/Cameron Hill PremiAir Racing
James Golding/Dylan O'Keeffe PremiAir Racing
Jack Le Brocq/Aaron Seton Matt Stone Racing
Todd Hazelwood/Jayden Ojeda Matt Stone Racing
Craig Lowndes/Declan Fraser Triple Eight (wildcard)
Richie Stanaway/Greg Murphy Erebus Motorsport (wildcard)
Matt Chahda/Jaylyn Robotham Matt Chahda Motorsport (wildcard)
TBA/TBA Anderson Motorsport (wildcard)
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter