2022 Supercars grid: Who's confirmed and which seats are vacant

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 13/09/2021
  • By James Pavey

It was a big Monday in the Supercars silly season, with Brad Jones Racing the centre of attention.

The day began with Nick Percat announcing his departure from the team, before Andre Heimgartner signed on from 2022 onwards.

Only last week, Heimgartner confirmed he will not drive for Kelly Grove Racing next season as it enters its new Grove-led era.

Percat, meanwhile, was confirmed to have re-signed with BJR in June.

Percat is on the lookout for a 2022 seat

Of a 25-car grid for 2022, 14 seats have been confirmed, with Heimgartner effectively replacing the now-free agent Percat.

Red Bull Ampol Racing, Shell V-Power Racing Team, Erebus Motorsport, Team Sydney and Blanchard Racing Team have locked away their full 2022 line-ups.

BJR has three seats left to fill, with incumbents Todd Hazelwood, Macauley Jones and Jack Smith yet to have their 2022 plans set in stone.

Smith is likely to remain considering his family owns the Racing Entitlements Contract which underpins his entry.

Three seats are also yet to be officially confirmed at Tickford Racing, which will expand to four cars next season.

Tailem Bend winner Heimgartner will join BJR in 2022

However, team leader Cameron Waters is expected to remain alongside the already-confirmed Thomas Randle, who will make his full-time debut in 2022.

David Reynolds and Chaz Mostert are locked in at Kelly Grove Racing and Walkinshaw Andretti United respectively.

The door is now ajar for Percat to make a sensational return to the Walkinshaw fold, having been backed by the team for the best part of a decade.

Percat won the 2011 Bathurst 1000 for the Walkinshaw-led Holden Racing Team, and steered a Walkinshaw Racing car in 2014.

In Heimgartner's absence, Kelly Grove Racing has already signed rising Kiwi talent Matthew Payne to its new junior squad.

2022 Repco Supercars Championship grid so far (as of September 13, 2021)

Red Bull Ampol Racing
Broc Feeney
Shane van Gisbergen

Shell V-Power Racing Team
Anton De Pasquale
Will Davison

Tickford Racing
Thomas Randle

Walkinshaw Andretti United
Chaz Mostert

Brad Jones Racing
Andre Heimgartner

Kelly Grove Racing
David Reynolds

Team 18
Mark Winterbottom

Erebus Motorsport
Will Brown
Brodie Kostecki

Blanchard Racing Team
Tim Slade

Team Sydney
Garry Jacobson
Fabian Coulthard

Matt Stone Racing

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter