2022 Supercars grid: Silly season takes major twist

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 07/09/2021
  • By James Pavey

The 2022 silly season has taken a major twist, with Andre Heimgartner to depart Kelly Grove Racing at season’s end.

It was confirmed Tuesday that Heimgartner will not drive for the team as it enters its new Grove-led era in 2022.

Of a 25-car grid for 2022, 14 seats have been confirmed.

Naturally, several teams emerge as possible suitors for Heimgartner. Critically, he has previous experience with two of them.

Heimgartner made his full-time Supercars debut aboard a Tickford-run Super Black Racing entry in 2015.

Heimgartner will leave Kelly Grove Racing

He also scored a podium for BJR on the streets of Surfers Paradise in 2017.

Red Bull Ampol Racing, Shell V-Power Racing Team, Erebus Motorsport, Team Sydney and Blanchard Racing Team have all locked in their full 2022 line-ups.

Last week, Broc Feeney was confirmed alongside Shane van Gisbergen in coveted second Triple Eight seat.

David Reynolds is contracted to KGR for 2022, while 2020 Super2 champion Thomas Randle will compete full-time for Tickford Racing next season.

Nick Percat and Chaz Mostert have already re-signed for Brad Jones Racing and Walkinshaw Andretti United respectively, with Cameron Waters also likely to remain at Tickford.

Heimgartner made his full-time debut in 2015 for Super Black Racing

Heimgartner's exit from KGR could trigger a major domino effect - the Grove team has already locked in rising Kiwi talent Matthew Payne in its new junior squad.

Matt Stone Racing and Team 18 are yet to confirm their full driver line-ups, although incumbents Jake Kostecki, Zane Goddard and Scott Pye are expected to remain.

BJR incumbents Todd Hazelwood, Macauley Jones and Jack Smith are yet to have their 2022 plans confirmed.

However, Smith’s family owns the Racing Entitlements Contract behind his entry.

Jack Le Brocq and James Courtney are also yet to be locked in at Tickford, as has Bryce Fullwood at WAU.

2022 Repco Supercars Championship grid so far (as of September 7, 2021)

Red Bull Ampol Racing
Broc Feeney
Shane van Gisbergen

Shell V-Power Racing Team
Anton De Pasquale
Will Davison

Tickford Racing
Thomas Randle

Walkinshaw Andretti United
Chaz Mostert

Brad Jones Racing
Nick Percat

Kelly Grove Racing
David Reynolds

Team 18
Mark Winterbottom

Erebus Motorsport
Will Brown
Brodie Kostecki

Blanchard Racing Team
Tim Slade

Team Sydney
Garry Jacobson
Fabian Coulthard

Matt Stone Racing

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter