2020 Supercars number changes revealed

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 01/02/2020
  • By Connor O'Brien

The full list of race numbers for the 2020 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship has been revealed, with several new-season changes.

Among the movements announced on Fox Sports’ coverage at the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour is the #22 changing hands from Walkinshaw Andretti United to Team Sydney.

The Walkinshaw organisation has typically run #2 and #22, but will this year swap the latter for #25 on Chaz Mostert’s new ZB Commodore.

The Holden squad will retain the #2 for rookie recruit Bryce Fullwood.

WAU does have history running the #25, having done so for former driver James Courtney in 2018 to celebrate the 25th anniversary of their partnership with Mobil 1.

Team Sydney add the #22 – a favourite number of team owner Jonathon Webb – to their ranks for their new second car, which Kiwi driver Chris Pither has been strongly linked to.

Courtney has been confirmed to don Tekno’s regular #19 for the revamped outfit’s lead car.

Fellow expanding squad Team 18 meanwhile will run recruit Scott Pye in the #20, with its livery and major sponsor still to be announced.

The other key confirmations have occurred at Brad Jones Racing.

Macauley Jones is switching from #21 to #3 in the CoolDrive entry; while Jack Smith, Nick Percat and Todd Hazelwood will run #4, #8 and #14 respectively.

The #1 is again absent from the grid in 2020, with reigning champion Scott McLaughlin continuing with Dick Johnson’s famous #17.

Full grid as published by Fox Sports broadcast:

# Driver Team
2 Bryce Fullwood Mobil 1 Middy's Racing
3 Macauley Jones Team CoolDrive
4 Jack Smith SCT Logistics
5 Lee Holdsworth Truck Assist Racing
6 Cameron Waters Monster Energy Racing
7 Andre Heimgartner NED Racing
8 Nick Percat Brad Jones Racing
9 David Reynolds Penrite Racing
12 Fabian Coulthard Shell V-Power Racing
14 Todd Hazelwood Brad Jones Racing
15 Rick Kelly Castrol Racing
17 Scott McLaughlin Shell V-Power Racing
18 Mark Winterbottom IRWIN Racing
19 James Courtney Team Sydney
20 Scott Pye Team 18
22 TBA Team Sydney
23 Will Davison Milwaukee Racing
25 Chaz Mostert Mobil 1 Racing
34 Zane Goddard/Jake Kostecki Matt Stone Racing
35 Garry Jacobson Matt Stone Racing
55 Jack Le Brocq Supercheap Auto Racing
88 Jamie Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Team
97 Shane van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team
99 Anton De Pasquale Penrite Racing
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter