Brown beats Le Brocq to Race 10 pole

20 May
Kostecki fourth, van Gisbergen ninth, Mostert 11th
4 mins by James Pavey

Will Brown has scored a second ARMOR ALL Pole Position in as many events, beating Jack Le Brocq to Race 10 honours at the NED Whisky Tasmania SuperSprint.

Erebus Motorsport star Brown, who won from pole in Perth earlier this month, put 0.1980s on Matt Stone Racing veteran Le Brocq.

Cam Waters (#6 Monster Mustang) was the first Ford home in third, having topped Q2 and led the times ahead of the final Q3 runs.

  • Click here for Qualifying 10 results

Series leader Brodie Kostecki (#99 Coca-Cola Camaro) was fourth ahead of Andre Heimgartner (#8 R&J Batteries Camaro), with Broc Feeney (#88 Red Bull Ampol Camaro) sixth.

Cameron Hill qualified a career-best seventh aboard his #35 Truck Assist Camaro, making it an MSR two-seven result.

Shane van Gisbergen, who has won five of the last seven races at Symmons Plains, was ninth between James Golding (#31 Nulon Camaro) and Scott Pye (#20 East Coast Car Rentals Camaro).

Van Gisbergen later said he aborted his flyer with local yellows displayed at the hairpin after Waters went off. Triple Eight requested an investigation, with no further action taken.

Walkinshaw Andretti United Ford star Chaz Mostert, who is second in the championship, qualified 11th, having missed a Q3 berth by 0.0159s.

"To pole it then was great, there were a few games going on down pit lane," said Brown, who scored pole with team owner Betty Klimenko on-site.

"We were [looking for a tow] then I saw Waters pushed back, and pushed back in. It was pretty clever by him.

"I was trying to hold them up, I thought if we bank them up, they won't get their two laps in, everyone was playing enough games, then I went for it.

"Lucky enough Jimmy Golding was ahead of me, so I got a tow... absolutely ecstatic."

Kostecki, who paced both practice sessions, was third early in Q1 behind Will Davison (#17 Shell V-Power Mustang) and Le Brocq.

It was a far different story for Davison’s teammate Anton De Pasquale, whose clutch dramas persisted en route to 22nd, one position ahead of David Reynolds (#26 Penrite Mustang).


Reynolds will start 23rd, with the 2017 Bathurst winner’s efforts plagued by a gear sensor issue.

Bryce Fullwood (#14 Middy’s Camaro) was 21st, and despite being just 0.4670s from Davison, missed out on a Q2 berth along with Declan Fraser (#56 TRADIE Mustang) and Macauley Jones (#96 Pizza Hut Camaro).

The remaining 20 cars returned to the track on used tyres, and Heimgartner fired the first shot with a 51.2041s ahead of Waters’ 51.2041s.

Kostecki and van Gisbergen jumped ahead shortly afterwards, with Brown and Feeney also demoting Waters.

Mark Winterbottom (#18 DEWALT Camaro) jumped from 18th to fourth as the rest of the field remained in pit lane ahead of the final runs, with teammate Pye moving to sixth.

All cars returned with four minutes remaining, with the top 18 covered by 0.5541s ahead of the final Q2 runs.

Waters set the quickest time, a 50.8692s, ahead of Kostecki, Brown, Pye and Hill.

Mostert ended up missing a Q3 berth by just 0.0159s, with Walkinshaw Andretti United teammate Nick Percat 13th.

Davison slumped to 16th, but will start 20th after being handed a four-place grid penalty for impeding Feeney, who ran off the road at Turn 2.

Winterbottom was 14th ahead of James Courtney (#5 Snowy Rivers Caravans Mustang), Matt Payne (#19 Penrite Mustang) and Thomas Randle (#55 Castrol Mustang).

Todd Hazelwood (#3 CoolDrive Mustang) and Jack Smith (#4 SCT Logistics Camaro) also failed to secure passage into the final part of qualifying.

Just 10 minutes separated the final 10 runners from an ARMOR ALL Pole Position, and Waters set the early running with a 51.0807s.

Only Waters, Feeney, van Gisbergen and Brown ventured out when the lights went green for Q3, with all drivers rolling out with three minutes remaining.

As drivers fought to gain a tow, Brown pushed in a 50.8786s, with Le Brocq the only other driver within 0.2s of the #9 Coca-Cola Camaro.

The 42-lap Race 10 will commence at 3:50pm local time.

Related News