Van Gisbergen wins Charlotte thriller

  • Supercars All Stars Eseries
  • |
  • 20/05/2020
  • By Connor O'Brien

Shane van Gisbergen has pipped Cameron Waters to victory at Charlotte in the opening race of Round 7 of the BP Supercars All Stars Eseries.


The race was called time-certain after a lengthy competition caution – but throughout featured intense, close battles.

After multiple changes for the lead between the likes of van Gisbergen, polesitter Anton De Pasquale, Lando Norris, Chaz Mostert and Jamie Whincup, it was the #97 driver who led the field when it mattered most.

Van Gisbergen crossed the line just 0.017s ahead of Waters, with Fabian Coulthard millimetres back in third.

Series leader Scott McLaughlin had a troubled race after starting 20th, spinning and pitting on the opening lap and then being caught up in a late-race tangle.

McLaughlin ultimately came home 27th and last, meaning he has lost the points lead to van Gisbergen.

After promising races, Mostert and Whincup also finished towards the back.

Fourth through 10th was Bryce Fullwood, Andre Heimgartner, Nick Percat, Lee Holdsworth, Zane Goddard, Todd Hazelwood and Mark Winterbottom.

Two races at Daytona’s Roval will round out Round 7.

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter