59 and counting: Sydney to make championship history

05 Oct 2021
Sydney Motorsport Park to become fourth circuit to host 70 races

Sydney Motorsport Park will rise up the list of circuits with most championship races next month.

The Eastern Creek venue will stage four events from October 29, with four races to be held under lights.

The fourth event, the Beaurepaires Sydney SuperNight, will feature two 250km races.

The three preceding events will feature three races each, taking the four-event total to 11 races.

When drivers cross the line in Race 30 in late November, Sydney Motorsport Park will have hosted its 70th championship race.

Supercars are back in Sydney

The Sydney venue will become just the fourth circuit in ATCC/Supercars history to have hosted 70 or more races.

Just 33 venues have hosted championship races since the category’s inception in 1960.

Perth’s Wanneroo Raceway leads the way with 89 races, just ahead of Tasmania’s Symmons Plains on 87.

Wanneroo Raceway was set to become the first circuit to crack 90 races in 2020 before the event was cancelled due to the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Sandown is third on the list with 79 races, with the Melbourne venue hosting the second round of the 2021 season in March. Series leader Shane van Gisbergen won all three Sandown races.

Sydney Motorsport Park hosted 59 races between 1992 and 2020

Sydney Motorsport Park will leapfrog Darwin's Hidden Valley Raceway (67 races), Winton (66), Oran Park (65) and Phillip Island (62).

Sandown leads the way with rounds hosted; March's Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint was the 51st at the circuit.


Symmons Plains have hosted 48 and 42 rounds respectively, with Winton fourth on 32.

Sydney Motorsport Park will draw level with Mount Panorama on 29 championship rounds.

However, Mount Panorama will hit 30 rounds when it hosts December's Repco Bathurst 1000.

Sydney will host night racing four the fourth time

Jamie Whincup holds the distinction of having won at the most circuits.

Whincup, who will retire at the end of the 2021 season, has won at a record 22 circuits.

Mark Skaife and Marcos Ambrose are the most successful drivers at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Skaife won a record 10 races in Sydney, with Ambrose winning seven races from 14 starts between 2001 and 2005.

Whincup and van Gisbergen are the most successful active drivers with four wins each.

The 2021 Repco Supercars Championship will resume at the Bunnings Trade Sydney SuperNight on October 29.

Most ATCC/Supercars races




Wanneroo Raceway (1973-2019)


Symmons Plains Raceway (1969-2021)


Sandown Raceway (1965-2021)


Hidden Valley Raceway (1998-2021)


Winton Motor Raceway (1985-2019)


Oran Park Raceway (1971-2008)


Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit (1976-2019)


Sydney Motorsport Park (1992-2020)


Queensland Raceway (1999-2019)


Adelaide Street Circuit (1999-2020)

*Correct to the WD-40 Townsville SuperSprint

Related News