2022 grid takes shape after Tickford announcements

11 Oct 2021
Jake Kostecki and James Courtney have been confirmed at Tickford

Tickford Racing has been at the centre of recent 2022 grid developments, with James Courtney and Jake Kostecki committing to the team.

Courtney, who joined the team during the 2020 season, signed a new multi-year deal last week.

On Monday, Kostecki's shift from Matt Stone Racing was confirmed, with Jack Le Brocq to exit the team at season's end.

With Cameron Waters highly expected to remain with Tickford, the team's four-pronged attack on the 2022 season is all but complete.

'It's a dream come true': Kostecki

With Courtney and Kostecki locked in, 17 of 25 seats on the 2022 grid have now been filled.

Brad Jones Racing has yet to confirm the teammates for Andre Heimgartner, who will shift from Kelly Grove Racing.

Kelly Grove Racing will enter 2022 as Grove Racing following the exit of the Kelly family.

The Braeside team has yet to confirm a teammate for David Reynolds, but has thrown is support behind Kiwi teen Matthew Payne in its new junior programme.

Payne will complete the remaining two Super2 rounds for the team, and recently tested a Mustang Supercar at Winton.

'I feel re-energised': Courtney on Tickford extension

Walkinshaw Andretti United re-signed Chaz Mostert earlier this year, but the 2014 Bathurst 1000 has yet to have a 2022 teammate locked in.

With Kostecki moving to Tickford, WAU looms as a likely landing spot for Nick Percat, who announced his BJR exit last month.

That leaves MSR with both seats to fill, with Le Brocq set to effect a straight swap with Kostecki.


The team previously expressed its desire to retain both Kostecki and Zane Goddard, who also completed the team's SuperLite programme in 2020.

The 2021 Repco Supercars Championship will resume at Sydney Motorsport Park this month with the Bunnings Trade Sydney SuperNight.

2022 Repco Supercars Championship grid so far (as of October 11, 2021)

Red Bull Ampol RacingBroc FeeneyShane van Gisbergen

Shell V-Power Racing TeamAnton De PasqualeWill Davison

Tickford RacingThomas RandleJames CourtneyJake KosteckiTBA

Walkinshaw Andretti UnitedChaz MostertTBA

Brad Jones RacingAndre HeimgartnerTBATBATBA

Kelly Grove RacingDavid ReynoldsTBA

Team 18Mark WinterbottomScott Pye

Erebus MotorsportWill BrownBrodie Kostecki

Blanchard Racing TeamTim Slade

Team SydneyGarry JacobsonFabian Coulthard

Matt Stone RacingTBATBA

Related News