Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
Penalty 0
Average Qualifying Position 6.8
Average finishing Position 13.8


Date of birth
09/05/1989 (Age 29)
Place of birth
Auckland, New Zealand
Gold Coast, QLD
Outside of Racing
Hyper Simulator, Drifting, Speedway, NASCAR, Family
Personal Vehicle
Holden VF Series 2 SV6 Sportswagon
Grant McPherson
Follow Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen narrowly missed out on winning the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship for a second time last year.

The Kiwi claimed the title in 2016, his first season with Triple Eight, and after an up-and-down '17 fell just short in the fierce '18 fight against Scott McLaughlin.

It is now more than a decade since van Gisbergen burst onto the Supercars scene with Team Kiwi in the middle of 2007.

During a torrentially-wet weekend at Oran Park, he finished 13th in one race and set the third-fastest lap in another.

Stone Brothers Racing became Van Gisbergen’s home in 2008, continuing to demonstrate brilliant car control in the wet.

As he matured, performances became far more consistent and he teetered on the brink of victory until breaking through on some soil at the Hamilton street circuit in 2011.

He left SBR at the end of 2012 in controversial circumstances as it was due to become Erebus Motorsport, linking with Tekno Autosports.

Van Gisbergen took his first win driving a Holden on his Tekno debut in Adelaide in 2013, winning nine over his three-year tenure and finishing runner-up to Jamie Whincup in the '14 championship.

Since joining Triple Eight, van Gisbergen has also won a PIRTEK Enduro Cup and the Jason Richards Trophy.

He continues to build an impressive record in sportscar racing that includes winning the 2016 Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup with McLaren.

Season Progress

Event Race Qualifying Finish Championship
Superloop Adelaide 500 ›
Race 1 › 5 3 3
Race 2 › 2 3 2
Beaurepaires Melbourne 400 ›
Race 3 › 5 24 5
Race 4 › 11 10 6
Race 5 › 13 21 9
Race 6 › 5 22 11

Vehicle detail

Holden Commodore ZB
Red Bull Holden Racing Team

Triple Eight Race Engineering has set the standard in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship for more than a decade.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter