Operations Manual

The Virgin Australia Supercars Champinship is a FIA approved International Series and, as such, is required to comply with the rules and regulations set out by the FIA for Series of this nature.


This year, the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship will continue with the two race format for SuperSprint events, with three endurance rounds at the Sandown 500, Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 and Gold Coast 600, contributing to the Pirtek Enduro Cup.

The biggest change for the season is the new tyres, with Soft and Super Soft tyres made to a different construction, introduced for the 2017 season to challenge the teams and spice up the racing.


While most SuperSprint events keep the Saturday 120km race and Sunday 200km race format, a few regular events have had for 2017.

The season opening Clipsal 500 is back to two gruelling 250km races for an intense start for the drivers. Third on the calendar, historic Phillip Island will adopt that format this year for longer races at the seaside circuit.

Townsville has two 200km races on the hybrid street circuit, and is the last variation before the enduros. The Pukekohe event in Auckland will mirror Townsville, now with two 200km sprints rather than the four no-stop 100km runs.

Newest addition to the calendar Newcastle will be two 250km races, ending the season as it started on the streets.


No changes for the year’s long distance events, with two drivers contesting 500km at Sandown, 1000km at Mount Panorama, Bathurst, and 600km over two 300km races on the Gold Coast, to decide the Pirtek Enduro Cup.


Every race grid of 2017 will be determined by a qualifying session – but there’s a new addition early on, with an ARMOR ALL Top 10 Shootout for Saturday’s race at the Clipsal 500 as well as Sunday’s.

The cars that clock the top 10 times in the qualifying session will go hell for leather with the circuit all to themselves for just one lap to determine pole position.

The non-championship Formula One Australian Grand Prix now has four 10 minute sessions to determine each grid, while the SuperSprints carry on with one 15-minute session Saturday and 20 minutes on Sunday to set the starting order.

Top 10 Shootouts feature at the Clipsal 500, CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown, Townsville 400, Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, Gold Coast 600, and Coates Hire Newcastle 500.


The new Super Soft tyres will be used at most events – the Soft will feature at just the Clipsal 500 Adelaide, WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint, Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 and ITM Auckland SuperSprint.

Rules for tyre changes have been updated for this year though, with teams only required to change two tyres (rather than all four) in the shorter 120km races.


Longer races have minimum fuel drops in place, meaning teams must pump a certain amount of petrol on-board throughout the race.

200km races require 120L, which means teams must make at least two pit stops to get the required amount of fuel on-board; while 250km races have a 140L minimum, which also means at least two pit stops throughout the race.

The enduros adopt a different strategy, with a set number of Compulsory Pit Stops (CPS) required throughout the day – Sandown has three over 500km, Bathurst seven over 1000km and Gold Coast two for each 300km races. Those numbers remain from last year.


This year Dunlop introduces two new specifications of tyre to further improve the Supercars racing experience for both drivers and spectators.

Referred to as ‘soft’ and ‘super soft’, these new speci cation tyres differ in both size and construction to those used in 2016.

The 290/675X18 ‘soft’ and ‘super soft’ tyres feature a new profile shape and are slightly wider, resulting in a larger footprint on the track. They have shown to not only be faster than their predecessor, but also more durable.


Section Updated
2017 Operations Manual – DIV A – ADMINISTRATION RULES February 28, 2017
2017 Operations Manual – DIV B – JUDICIAL RULES February 28, 2017
2017 Operations Manual – DIV C – VCS TECHNICAL RULES February 28, 2017
2017 Operations Manual – DIV D – SPORTING RULES February 28, 2017
2017 Operations Manual – DIV E – OPERATIONS RULES February 28, 2017
2017 Operations Manual – DIV F – FORMS February 28, 2017
2017 Operations Manual – DIV G – SUPER2 TECHNICAL RULES February 28, 2017
2017 Operations Manual – DIV GNG – SUPER2 TECHNICAL RULES February 28, 2017
2017 Operations Manual Update – Log February 28, 2017
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter