Evans the final piece of Bathurst puzzle

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 19/09/2022
  • By James Pavey

A successful evaluation for Jaxon Evans could see the Bathurst grid finalised as early as Monday.

Brad Jones Racing will run an evaluation day for Porsche ace Evans at Winton on Monday.

Evans is in the frame for a Bathurst debut alongside Jack Smith in the #4 SCT Logistics Commodore.

Should the day go to plan, it is expected the Kiwi will be confirmed in the last remaining enduro seat.

At the time of the Evans announcement, BJR suggested the deal could be signed, sealed and confirmed straight after the test.

Evans recently arrived in Australia off the back of 12 Hour success in Germany.

Last week, Evans claimed victory in the maiden 12 Hours of Nürburgring for Falken Motorsports.

The New Zealander is the 2018 Porsche Carrera Cup Australia champion.

His most recent Supercars track time came in a Winton test aboard in a Walkinshaw Andretti United Commodore in 2018.

Monday’s running is the first in a line of pre-Bathurst outings for teams.

Victorian-based squads will take to Winton on Tuesday (September 20), a day after Evans' evaluation.

BJR and WAU will be joined by Tickford Racing, Grove Racing, Blanchard Racing Team and the Matt Chahda Motorsport wildcard.

Erebus Motorsport will run Brodie Kostecki’s #99 entry at a Rookie Test Day at The Bend Motorsport Park next Wednesday (September 21).

The team is hurriedly repairing Will Brown’s #9 car following his Pukekohe crash.

The car is set to join the wildcard entry for Greg Murphy and Richie Stanaway on September 28.

Team 18 will also test on the day at Winton.

Also on September 28, Queensland Raceway will be the scene for the final test for Triple Eight wildcards Craig Lowndes and Declan Fraser.

Red Bull Ampol Racing, Shell V-Power Racing Team, Matt Stone Racing and PremiAir Racing will also test.

First practice in Bathurst will be held on October 6, with race day October 9.

Tickets for the Repco Bathurst 1000 are available on Supercars.com and Ticketek.

2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 entry list

Team Primary driver Co-driver
Red Bull Ampol Racing Broc Feeney Jamie Whincup
Red Bull Ampol Racing Shane van Gisbergen Garth Tander
Shell V-Power Racing Team Anton De Pasquale Tony D'Alberto
Shell V-Power Racing Team Will Davison Alex Davison
Tickford Racing James Courtney Zane Goddard
Tickford Racing Cam Waters James Moffat
Tickford Racing Thomas Randle Zak Best
Tickford Racing Jake Kostecki Kurt Kostecki
Walkinshaw Andretti United Nick Percat Warren Luff
Walkinshaw Andretti United Chaz Mostert Fabian Coulthard
Erebus Motorsport Will Brown Jack Perkins
Erebus Motorsport Brodie Kostecki David Russell
Team 18 Mark Winterbottom Michael Caruso
Team 18 Scott Pye Tyler Everingham
CoolDrive Racing Tim Slade Tim Blanchard
Penrite Racing Lee Holdsworth Matt Payne
Penrite Racing David Reynolds Matt Campbell
Brad Jones Racing Andre Heimgartner Dale Wood
Brad Jones Racing Bryce Fullwood Dean Fiore
Brad Jones Racing Macauley Jones Jordan Boys
Brad Jones Racing Jack Smith Jaxon Evans**
PremiAir Racing Chris Pither Cameron Hill
PremiAir Racing James Golding Dylan O'Keeffe
Matt Stone Racing Jack Le Brocq Aaron Seton
Matt Stone Racing Todd Hazelwood Jayden Ojeda
Triple Eight* Craig Lowndes Declan Fraser
Erebus Motorsport* Richie Stanaway Greg Murphy
Matt Chahda Motorsport* Matt Chahda Jaylyn Robotham

*Denotes wildcard

**Expected but not confirmed

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter