Shell V-Power Racing Team

DJR Team Penske


Stapylton, QLD
Best championship result
Best Bathurst Result
Total Race Wins
Total Pole Positions
Follow Shell V-Power Racing Team

DJR Team Penske made massive gains in the 2017 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, denying Triple Eight the teams’ title and nearly taking Scott McLaughlin to the drivers’ crown.

The Shell Ford team returned to running two cars in 2016, before welcoming McLaughlin to its line-up alongside countryman Fabian Coulthard last year.

Its other key 2017 arrival was technical mastermind Ludo Lacroix from Triple Eight, the Frenchman quickly building an impressive rapport with McLaughlin.

McLaughlin and Coulthard finished second and third in the championship, the team won 12 races, while McLaughlin smashed the record for most pole positions in a single season with 16.

This year will be the fourth full season since American motorsport icon Roger Penske brought into Dick Johnson’s eponymous Supercars outfit in late-2014.

DJR won seven drivers’ titles over the course of more than three decades, led by five for Johnson himself and one each for John Bowe and James Courtney, along with three Bathurst wins.

With Penske having celebrated his 50th anniversary in motorsport in 2016, his outfit remains an IndyCar powerhouse and has tasted success in NASCAR and sportscar racing.


Tony D'Alberto

Shell V-Power Racing Team

Scott McLaughlin

Shell V-Power Racing Team

Alexandre Prémat

Shell V-Power Racing Team

Fabian Coulthard

Shell V-Power Racing Team

Team Cars

Ford Falcon FG X
Scott McLaughlin
Ford Falcon FG X
Fabian Coulthard
Key Members
Team Owners
Roger Penske, Dick Johnson, Ryan Story and Steve Brabeck
Team Principal
Ryan Story
Team Manager
Ben Croke
Engineer #12
Engineer #17
Ludo Lacroix
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter