Van Gisbergen nominated for fan-voted honour

17 Jan 2023
Kiwi's Bathurst victory earns recognition

Shane van Gisbergen is in the running for a prestigious fan-voted New Zealand sporting honour.

The 2022 Supercars season was one to remember for van Gisbergen, who cantered to a third Supercars title.

He won a record 21 races, including a second Bathurst 1000 victory.

Van Gisbergen has already been named as one of four finalists for New Zealand Sportsman of the Year as part of the upcoming ISPS Handa Halberg Awards.

The Red Bull Ampol Racing driver has now been nominated for an additional honour on the night.

Van Gisbergen is one of 10 contenders for New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of the Year.

He has been nominated for his Bathurst victory alongside co-driver Garth Tander last October.

Last laps: SVG wins final Bathurst for Holden

The Aucklander held off rivals Chaz Mostert and Cam Waters to secure his second Great Race victory.

The win was Holden’s final Bathurst victory, with van Gisbergen also winning Holden’s final championship.

He is one of five New Zealanders — along with Jim Richards, Steven Richards, Greg Murphy and Scott McLaughlin — to win the Bathurst 1000.


McLaughlin was nominated for the same award following his 2019 Bathurst victory.

Follow this link and the instructions to vote. Voters can vote once a day between 12.00am and 11.59pm.

Moments within the dates of 1 December 2021 to 30 November 2022 are eligible.

Other nominees come from a variety of sports, ranging from cricket to athletics, and golf to rugby union.

The Favourite Sporting Moment category is the only public-voted prize of the ISPS Handa Halberg Awards.

Voting closes at 9:00pm on Wednesday February 15, and the winner will be announced that night at the 60th Halberg Awards ceremony.

The full list of New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of the Year finalists:

  • Ajaz Patel becomes third bowler in Test cricket history to take all 10 wickets in an innings (Cricket, December 2021)

  • Corey Peters wins second medal of the Beijing Winter Paralympics in less than 24 hours (Snow sports, March 2022)

  • Aaron Gate wins four gold medals at the Commonwealth Games, joined by son Axel for victory lap on winning bike (Cycling, August 2022)

  • Imogen Ayris claims bronze at the Commonwealth Games in the women’s pole vault with a fractured foot (Athletics, August 2022)

  • Sam Tanner "happiest 6th place getter ever" in the Commonwealth Games men’s 1500m final (Athletics, August 2022)

  • Paul Coll and Joelle King celebrating their doubles win, eye protection visors clash giving King a black eye (Squash, August 2022)

  • Shane van Gisbergen wins the 2022 Bathurst 1000 (Motorsport, October 2022)

  • Ryan Fox wins the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship by one stroke (Golf, October 2022)

  • Black Ferns win the final lineout of the game against the throw, five metres from their tryline, to win the World Cup (Rugby, November 2022)

  • Ruby Tui’s singalong with the crowd after winning the Rugby World Cup (Rugby, November 2022)

The 2023 Repco Supercars Championship will commence in Newcastle on March 10-12.

Tickets are on sale on Supercars.com and Ticketek.com.

Related News