SuperUtes field grows for Winton

  • Haltech SuperUte Series
  • |
  • 26/05/2021
  • By

The field for the Haltech V8 SuperUte Series has grown to 14 entries for this weekend’s second round at Winton Motor Raceway.

A number of new faces are set to experience their first taste of competition in the new-look V8-powered utes, with the 2021 campaign starting at the OTR SuperSprint earlier this month.

Among the debutants is local Benalla driver Ellexandra Best, who is the younger sister of current Dunlop Super2 Series leader Zak Best.


She has previously raced Excels, a variety of production cars and Toyota 86s.

Earlier this week, she tested the #96 Mitsubishi Triton at Wakefield Park.

Steve Wilson, who raced in the previous V8 Utes and diesel-powered SuperUtes, will also join the grid in his Isuzu D-Max.

Richard Mork will campaign the #88 Toyota Hilux, which was raced by Wayne Williams at The Bend.

2016 V8 Utes champ David Sieders will also make an appearance in the #68 Mitsubishi Triton.

The heavyweights of the series will aim to continue their battle for the crown, with series leader Ryal Harris returning following his successes at The Bend.

He will be challenged by Aaron Borg, who won the final race of the weekend at The Bend, and Cameron Crick, who qualified on pole position at the South Australian circuit.

There’s also good news for Craig Dontas, who crashed heavily in the weekend’s opening race and was eliminated for the remainder of the weekend’s proceedings.

Dontas’ Triton has been repaired, and he will be back on track this weekend.

There will be four SuperUtes races at Winton this weekend, with the top 50 per cent of Race 1's finishing order to be reversed for Race 2.

Grid positions for Race 3 will be determined on points from the first two races; the finishing order from Race 3 will set the grid for Race 4. Check out the full weekend schedule here.

Haltech V8 SuperUte Series OTR SuperSprint entry list (Winton)

# Driver Vehicle
4 Aaron Borg Toyota Hilux
7 Cameron Crick Mitsubishi Triton
8 Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux
19 George Gutierrez Holden Colorado
37 Steve Wilson Isuzu D-Max
45 Craig Dontas Mitsubishi Triton
49 Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger
50 Craig Jenner Mazda BT50
58 Ryal Harris Mazda BT50
64 Craig Woods Toyota Hilux
68 David Sieders Mitsubishi Triton
88 Richard Mork Toyota Hilux
94 Michael Formosa Ford Ranger
96 Ellexandra Best Mitsubishi Triton
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter