Waters wins Perth opener

  • Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 02/05/2015
  • By V8 Supercars

Prodrive Racing Australia's Cameron Waters has convincingly won the opening V8 Supercars Dunlop Series race at the UBET Perth SuperSprint.

The ENZED Racing pilot took the chequered flag with a 6.7sec lead to second-placed Chris Pither, who started the race in ARMOR ALL Pole Position and completed the fastest lap of the race with a 58.55secs.

Despite Pither getting the jump and Waters falling back to third by the first turn - with MW Motorsport's Jack Le Brocq moving into second after starting third - the pace of the PRA Falcon prevailed to secure the team their first ever Dunlop Series victory at Barbagallo Raceway.

The 20-year-old regained his qualifying position from Le Brocq at the last turn, before he began to close in on Pither.

Within a lap of taking the lead, Waters had gapped Pither's MW Motorsport Falcon by 0.9secs, before he settled into a rhythm to complete a faultless drive to the chequered flag.

The win sees Waters take the championship lead heshared with Paul Dumbrell following Clipsal.

Dumbrell followed Le Brocq to the end of the 28-lapper to finish the race in fourth, ahead of Aaren Russell and Todd Hazelwood.

Shae Davies, Paul Morris, Garry Jacobson and Jesse Dixon rounded out the top ten.

Click here for the full results.

James Golding made up four spots from his qualifying position of 15th, finishing the race in 11th, while Simon Evans brought it home in 13th.

Brad Jones Racing stable mates Macauley Jones and Josh Kean finished in 15th and 16th respectively after battling in the dying laps of the race.

Their fellow teammate Andrew Jones only completed five laps and failed to finish the race after being forced into pit lane with an issue early on.

The second race of the Dunlop Series at the UBET Perth SuperSprint will start tomorrow at 10.10am local time.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter