Super2 Series field all-but set for 2018

  • Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 13/02/2018
  • By Mitchell Adam

The 2018 Dunlop Super2 Series field is effectively set, as next month’s season opener at the Adelaide 500 approaches.

A 23-car field is expected for the start of the second-tier’s 19th season, pending any late additions, with the grid dominated by 17 VF Commodores.

Confirmation of the last two pieces came today, in the shape of Garry Jacobson’s move from Tickford Racing to MW Motorsport, and outgoing MW driver Shae Davies landing at Paul Morris Motorsport.

With 2017 champion Todd Hazelwood, Jack Le Brocq and Anton De Pasquale graduating to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, three of last year’s top four drivers in the standings are absent.

Joining the series, meanwhile, are six rookies, led by former championship full-timer and Nissan enduro regular Dean Fiore at MW Motorsport.

The West Aussie links with the Nissan squad alongside 2017 Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport driver Alex Rullo and ’16 Super2 champion Jacobson.

Fiore is technically a Super2 rookie, with just two event starts to his name Fiore is technically a Super2 rookie, with just three event starts to his name

Other newcomers include open-wheel converts Thomas Randle and Zane Goddard with Tickford Racing and Brad Jones Racing respectively, both having spent recent years racing in Europe.

Dominic Storey brings GT experience to Eggleston Motorsport in its fourth car, while a technical alliance between Eggleston and newcomer Grove Motorsport has been struck for rookie Brenton Grove’s Triple Eight-built Commodore.

Tyler Greenbury completes the set of rookies with Matt Stone Racing aboard Hazelwood’s 2017 title winner, the team picking up Bryce Fullwood to drive its ex-Shell V-Power Racing Falcon.

Fullwood's Ford testing at Queensland Raceway Fullwood's Ford testing at Queensland Raceway

The MW Nissans and Falcons of Fullwood, Randle and Davies - in De Pasquale’s 2017 FG X - form the group of six non-Holdens.

Chris Pither returns to the series as part of Garry Rogers Motorsport’s two-Commodore line-up, ahead of his PIRTEK Enduro Cup campaign.

Adam Marjoram moves from MSR to Image Racing to drive an ex-Erebus Motorsport Holden, as Jordan Boys slots into the VF raced by Jack Perkins last year

Kostecki Brothers Racing has also welcomed a new Commodore, as Brodie Kostecki joins cousins Kurt and Jake under the banner.

2018 Dunlop Super2 Series entry list

#5Thomas RandleTickford RacingFalcon FG X
#8Zane GoddardBrad Jones RacingCommodore VF
#10Brenton GroveGrove MotorsportCommodore VF
#13Tyler GreenburyMatt Stone RacingCommodore VF
#14Macauley JonesBrad Jones RacingCommodore VF
#15Adam MarjoramImage RacingCommodore VF
#16Bryce FullwoodMatt Stone RacingFalcon FG X
#18Matt ChahdaMatt Chahda MotorsportCommodore VF
#21Jack SmithBrad Jones RacingCommodore VF
#23Dean FioreMW MotorsportAltima
#26Garry JacobsonMW MotorsportAltima
#38Will BrownEggleston MotorsportCommodore VF
#44Chris PitherGarry Rogers MotorsportCommodore VF
#49Jordan BoysDragon Motor RacingCommodore VF
#54Nathan MorcomEggleston MotorsportCommodore VF
#55Kurt KosteckiKostecki Brothers RacingCommodore VF
#56Jake KosteckiKostecki Brothers RacingCommodore VF
#57Brodie KosteckiKostecki Brothers RacingCommodore VF
#62Alex RulloMW MotorsportAltima
#63Dominic StoreyEggleston MotorsportCommodore VF
#67Shae DaviesPaul Morris MotorsportFalcon FG X
#88Paul DumbrellEggleston MotorsportCommodore VF
#99Mason BarberaGarry Rogers MotorsportCommodore VF
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter