Series leader continues form

  • Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 16/04/2016
  • By Kassie Gadeke

Garry Jacobson has backed up his Clipsal 500 victory, taking the first Dunlop Series race win at the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint.

The Prodrive racer started from second on the grid and got the jump when teammate Jack Le Brocq stalled on the startline and was swamped by the field.

As Jacobson built a lead up front – up to 1.458sec ahead on the second lap – Le Brocq climbed through the pack, on a charge in his Falcon FG X.

Macauley Jones spun after running in seventh, and Shae Davies had a big moment at Siberia, running off the track and through the kitty litter.

Returning competitor Marcus Zukanovic triggered the Safety Car, off at turn two after battling with the field’s youngest competitor Alex Rullo.

The field bunched up and after a lap eight restart, Le Brocq was up in sixth position before a big off at turn four on lap 12.

Jacobson sailed out to a 1.94sec lead while Le Brocq came home tenth, surely ruing the chance to chip into his teammate’s points lead.

Garry Rogers Motorsport young gun James Golding came home second, with two-time champ Paul Dumbrell home in third.

Todd Hazelwood and Andrew Jones completed the top five, and Josh Kean earned a top 10 – though his car then stopped on the circuit post-race.

Click here for full results.

The Dunlop Series complete a 16 lap race tomorrow at the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter