Roll call: Dunlop Super2 Series Townsville winners

  • Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 02/07/2021
  • By James Pavey

The Dunlop Super2 Series has a rich history in Townsville, where the 2021 season will resume next weekend.

It has been a long four months since the season opened at the Repco Mt Panorama 500, with Tickford Racing’s Zak Best the series leader.

The second-tier series has been a mainstay on the Supercars undercard in Townsville since the event debuted in 2009.

Incredibly, 11 different drivers have won the 11 rounds held in Townsville since 2009.

James Moffat was the very first race and round winner at the North Queensland venue, winning Races 1 and 3 of the weekend.

A whopping 16 different drivers have shared the 27 development series wins in Townsville; Steve Owen leads the way with four.

No active Super2 or Super3 drivers have won a race in Townsville, which didn’t host the development series in the 2020 COVID-19 affected season.

The eventual Super2 champion won in Townsville in the series’ last three visits; Todd Hazelwood (2017), Chris Pither (2018) and Bryce Fullwood (2019).

Fullwood, who drives in the main game for Walkinshaw Andretti United, swept the 2019 event en route to the series title.

Kostecki brothers Kurt and Jake, the latter of whom drivers full-time in the main game for Matt Stone Racing, shared the 2019 poles.

Six current main game drivers have won Super2 races in Townsville: Fullwood, Jack Le Brocq, Todd Hazelwood, Nick Percat, Cameron Waters and Garry Jacobson.

MW Motorsport has won three of the last four Super2 races in Townsville; the round winner went on the win the title in 2011 (Andrew Thompson), 2012 (Scott McLaughlin), 2015 (Waters), 2017 (Hazelwood) and 2019 (Fullwood).

The Dunlop Super2 Series field will return to North Queensland for the NTI Townsville 500 across July 9-11. Tickets are available here.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo, and will be broadcast live and free on Seven.

Previous Townsville Super2 round winners

2009: James Moffat
2010: Tim Blanchard
2011: Andrew Thompson
2012: Scott McLaughlin
2013: Steve Owen
2014: Chris Pither
2015: Cameron Waters
2016: Jack Le Brocq
2017: Todd Hazelwood
2018: Paul Dumbrell
2019: Bryce Fullwood

Most Townsville Super2 race wins

4: Steve Owen
2: Andrew Thompson, James Moffat, Scott McLaughlin, Tim Blanchard, Jack Le Brocq, Todd Hazelwood, Chris Pither, Bryce Fullwood
1: Ash Walsh, Grant Denyer, Nick Percat, Paul Morris, Cameron Waters, Paul Dumbrell, Garry Jacobson

Most Townsville Super2 pole positions

3: Cameron Waters
2: Steve Owen, Jack Le Brocq, Chris Pither
1: James Moffat, Andrew Thompson, Chaz Mostert, Shae Davies, Todd Hazelwood, Macauley Jones, Kurt Kostecki, Jake Kostecki

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter