New stars emerge

  • Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 05/03/2016
  • By Kassie Gadeke

V8 Supercars Dunlop Series rising stars have filled the podium at arguably the most physical round of the year at the Clipsal 500 in Adelaide.

On the back of its Dunlop Series title win with Cameron Waters last year, Prodrive Racing has taken two podium positions with Garry Jacobson winning his first ever race in the category, and Jack Le Brocq third.

Garry Rogers’ newest prodigy James Golding took a big opportunity in the final stages to dive on Le Brocq and wrestled second place after a safety car restart.

Jacobson started from pole position and while his start procedure was scrutinised, he got away from the line well to lead Le Brocq. He won the race by 0.7 seconds and was emotional about locking in his first win after joining Prodrive this season.

“It’s more than I could’ve asked for it really does go down to the team to support me and help me get my first win,” Jacobson said.

“You work really hard, you want to make it to the main game as soon as you start go karts, and I feel closer than last year, so I’m stoked.” 

Todd Hazelwood and Macauley Jones completed the top five, making it a good day for the rising talents in the Dunlop Series.

Two-time champ Paul Dumbrell was unable to finish the race after damaging the front right suspension of his Eggleston car after whacking the tyre bundle. He was running third when he speared down the escape road.

Shortly after Renee Gracie triggered the safety car, bogged at turn 11. It was the restart after her accident that saw most of the carnage, with Richard Muscat and 15-year old Alex Rullo hitting the car-breaking turn eight. Rullo had earlier been dealt a drive-though penalty for an incorrect start procedure in what was his second ever Dunlop Series race.

Josh Kean spun out early in the race, after his Brad Jones Racing team repaired his Wynn’s car overnight. He leaves the round on -25 points.

Click here for full Dunlop Series results.

The category will continue at the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint in April.

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter