Field set for Dunlop Super2 Bathurst 250

  • Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 27/09/2018
  • By Stefan Bartholomaeus

Earl Bamber is set to be the only co-driver among a 22-car field for the Dunlop Super2 Series’ 250km Bathurst mini-enduro.

This year marks the fifth running of the 250km format, which puts the rising starts of Super2 on centre stage on the Saturday of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 weekend.

It is a points-scoring event for Super2 drivers again this year, after being held as a showcase race in 2017 as part of efforts to encourage wildcards into the main event.

Although co-drivers are allowed to take part, they are not compulsory, with few taking up the option over the years.

All cars, however, must undertake an 85-litre fuel drop during the race, ensuring at least one pitstop during the 41 laps.

Bamber has linked with Grove Motorsport to partner rookie driver Brenton Grove, giving the Kiwi more laps ahead of his Bathurst 1000 debut with the Red Bull Holden Racing Team.

The globetrotting Porsche ace has Mount Panorama experience thanks to previous starts in the Bathurst 12 Hour, but is yet to drive a Supercar on the circuit.

Grove in action at Sandown

The only other change to the Bathurst Super2 entry from Sandown is the absence of Kali Motorsport, which struck a late deal to field Ricky Capo at the Melbourne venue.

Sandown marked a key round in the Super2 title battle, with Chris Pither falling to 226 points behind leader Paul Dumbrell due to a Race 1 incident.

Brodie Kostecki moved to third thanks to a breakthrough double victory, 265 points adrift of Dumbrell, with 300 points available in one race at Bathurst.

Nine drivers are doing double duties across the Super2 round and Great Race, headlined by Red Bull HRT duo Bamber and Dumbrell.

Pither, Macauley Jones, Will Brown, Bryce Fullwood and Nissan trio Garry Jacobson, Dean Fiore and Alex Rullo are also running dual programs, as they did at Sandown.

Jones took the win at Bathurst last year

Jones, who is teamed with Nick Percat for the PIRTEK Enduro Cup, is the reigning winner of the Super2 Bathurst 250, ending Dumbrell’s previously undefeated run.

It remains the 23-year-old's only Super2 win to date, having struck mechanical issues while leading during both races at Townsville in July.

Dunlop Super2 Series Bathurst 250 entry list

Car # Team name Driver(s) Car
5 Tickford Racing Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG X
8 Brad Jones Racing Zane Goddard Holden Commodore VF
10 Grove Motorsport Brenton Grove and Earl Bamber Holden Commodore VF
14 Brad Jones Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF
15 Image Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF
16 Matt Stone Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VF
18 Matt Chahda Motorsport Matt Chahda Holden Commodore VF
21 Brad Jones Racing Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF
23 MW Motorsport Dean Fiore Nissan Altima
26 MW Motorsport Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima
38 Eggleston Motorsport Will Brown Holden Commodore VF
44 Garry Rogers Motorsport Chris Pither Holden Commodore VF
49 Image Racing Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF
54 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF
55 Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF
56 Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF
57 Kostecki Brothers Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore VF
62 MW Motorsport Alex Rullo Nissan Altima
63 Eggleston Motorsport Dominic Storey Holden Commodore VF
67 Paul Morris Motorsport Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG X
88 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF
99 Garry Rogers Motorsport Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF
Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter