Dumbrell fastest at Barbagallo

  • Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 01/05/2015
  • By V8 Supercars

Paul Dumbrell has continued his strong form from Clipsal to top the opening practice session at the UBET Perth SuperSprint.

Despite experiencing issues with over fuel, which saw the Eggleston Motorsport team forced to drain oil from the #1 entry, Dumbrell topped the session with a 58.019sec.

Cameron Waters - who is currently tied for first with Dumbrell in the series standings - trailed the two-time Dunlop Series Champion by .0136secs, followed by Brad Jones Racing's Andrew Jones.

Jack Le Brocq recorded the fourth quickest time, with MW Motorsport teammate Simon Evans ending the session fifth fastest as he made his debut at Barbagallo Raceway.

Paul Morris followed, while Aaren Russell continued his recent strong form to take the seventh quickest time in the 40-minute session.

2014 Mike Kable Young Gun Todd Hazelwood, rookie Jessie Dixon and Taz Douglas rounded out the top ten.

Click here for the full results.

Josh Kean was on the fringes of the top ten, recording the 11th quickest time, followed by Ant Pedersen in 12th.

Dunlop Series rookies Shae Davies and James Golding finished the session in 14th and 15th respectively, while Renee Gracie took her Fujitsu Racing Falcon to the 21st quickest time.

Ice Break Racing's Chris Pither didn't turn a lap in the session, after an electrical misfire saw him bound to pit lane.

The Dunlop Series will take to Barbagallo again today for Practice 2 at 12.35pm.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter