Boys wins thrilling Bathurst Super2 finale

  • Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 28/02/2021
  • By James Pavey

Jordan Boys has held out Tyler Everingham to claim his first Dunlop Series victory since the 2019 Newcastle finale.

The second race of the weekend marked the Image Racing driver's third Super2 win, following victories at Sandown and Newcastle in 2019.

Boys, who made his main game debut on the mountain last year, defeated MW Motorsport's Everingham in a three-lap dash to the end following a late BP Ultimate Safety Car intervention.

The race was neutralised on lap 8 after Nash Morris buried his car in the sand at Murray's Corner.

At the time of the full course yellow, Boys was just 0.4s ahead of Everingham, with pole sitter Jayden Ojeda also within a second.

Ojeda attempted a move on the outside of Everingham on the outside at the end of the 10th lap, and was shuffled onto the grass by Broc Feeney.

It opened the door for Race 1 winner Feeney to slide into third, with Ojeda dropping to seventh.

Ojeda then speared off at the Chase attempting an overtake on Jaylyn Robotham, with Saturday pole man Angelo Mouzouris also running wide.

Everingham was all over Boys as the final lap commenced, with Feeney, Zak Best and Matt Chahda all within striking distance.

Hungry after his Race 1 DNS, Everingham fell short, with Boys crossing the line with a two-tenth winning margin.

The top five runners were covered by just 1.8s, with Matthew McLean and Declan Fraser finishing behind Robotham.

Mouzouris and Ojeda recovered to ninth and 10th, with Michael Anderson the highest-placed Super3 runner in 13th.

Josh Fife failed to make the finish at all, suffering damage in an earlier accident at Forrest's Elbow.

McLean, who was sixth overall for the weekend, was the inaugural Let's Go Motorhomes Rookie of the Round winner.

Boys and Feeney registered 279 points each for the weekend, with the former winning the round on a countback by virtue of his Sunday win.

Best finished third overall wth 240 points, ahead of Mouzouris (216), Chahda (207) and McLean (198).

The series will resume at the Winton SuperSprint across 29-30 May.

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter