Young gun gets dual-Nissan Tassie outing

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 03/04/2019
  • By Mitchell Adam

Dunlop Super2 Series points leader Bryce Fullwood will represent Kelly Racing in Friday's additional driver session at the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint.

Fullwood will spend time in the Nissan Altimas of Rick Kelly and Andre Heimgartner in the 30-minute hitout at Symmons Plains.

Kelly Racing's other two entries of Simona De Silvestro and Garry Jacobson will not take part.

Darwin native Fullwood rejoined MW Motorsport in Super2 in 2019, and won two of the three races at the Superloop Adelaide 500 in an Altima.

The 20-year-old contested last year's PIRTEK Enduro Cup with Todd Hazelwood and Matt Stone Racing.

Fullwood had undertaken a practice session with Kelly Racing at Queensland Raceway in 2017, subbing on that occasion for Todd Kelly's co-driver Jack Le Brocq.

Queensland Raceway, 2017

He was already heading to Tasmania to take part in the Aussie Racing Car round on the support card, with Kelly Racing classing his outing as "just a test".

Kelly Racing has not announced any co-drivers for the Bathurst, Gold Coast and Sandown events.

Headlined by Craig Lowndes and Garth Tander at the Red Bull Holden Racing Team, the majority of Supercars teams are expected to field co-drivers on Friday.

Boost Mobile Racing is set to sit the 30 minutes out, along with the De Silvestro and Jacobson Nissans and Macauley Jones' Commodore.

Tony D'Alberto is cross-entered to drive both Shell V-Power Racing Mustangs, with Scott McLaughlin's co-driver Alex Premat not making the trip from the US.

At Tickford Racing, Fullwood's Super2 rival Thomas Randle is yet to be confirmed as Lee Holdsworth's Enduro Cup partner, but is scheduled to turn laps in the #5 Mustang.

Brad Jones Racing wildcard Jack Smith is permitted to take part in the additional driver session as he prepares for his main game debut.

# Team Primary Driver Additional Driver
2 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing Scott Pye Warren Luff
3 Racing Garry Jacobson  
4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith  
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Thomas Randle
6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Michael Caruso
7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Bryce Fullwood
8 Dunlop Racing Nick Percat Tim Blanchard
9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Luke Youlden
12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Tony D'Alberto
14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Ash Walsh
15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Bryce Fullwood
17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Tony D'Alberto
18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Steven Richards
19 Truck Assist TEKNO Racing Jack Le Brocq Jonathon Webb
21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones  
22 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing James Courtney Jack Perkins
23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Alex Davison
33 Boost Mobile Racing Richie Stanaway  
34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding  
35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood  
55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert James Moffat
78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro  
88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Craig Lowndes
97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Garth Tander
99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale William Brown
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter