Why PremiAir Racing chased veteran Slade

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 21/10/2022
  • By James Pavey

Tim Slade’s experience and attitude proved decisive in PremiAir Racing signing the driver.

Slade’s expected move to the team was officially confirmed on Friday.

It comes a week after the team announced Chris Pither’s departure.

Slade, 37, will depart CoolDrive Racing after two years racing out of the Box Hill team.

The veteran’s signing marks a key coup for Peter Xiberras’ team, which continues to make big strides.

The team made the big call to replace Garry Jacobson with James Golding mid-season, and it has paid dividends.

Slade has two wins to his name, at Winton in 2016

Golding has thrown his hat into the ring to retain his drive with a number of impressive drives.

Most recently, Golding firmed for a Bathurst top 10 before front bar issues curtailed his charge.

Slade is a proven frontrunner, despite being unable to secure a podium in CoolDrive colours.

The South Australian won races and was a regular podium contender for Brad Jones Racing.

PremiAir Racing owner Xiberras was adamant Slade is part of the team’s plans to "build the strongest team possible for 2023”.

"The 2022 season has been a whirlwind, with everything coming together right before the start of the season and us jumping into the deep end with events straight up,” Xiberras said.

"We are taking the lessons we have learned across the year and working around the clock to ensure we can build the strongest team possible for 2023, and Tim is a big part of that puzzle.

'We are assured Tim will bring home success'

"When it comes to not only his racing talent and experience, but also his attitude and how he conducts himself.

"We are confident that Tim is going to be make an excellent addition to our line-up for 2023 and we can’t wait to see what we can all achieve together."

PremiAir Racing Team Principal Matt Cook reiterated that Slade’s attitude to racing was a major drawcard for the young team.

“Tim’s talent at the wheel of a Supercar is well established,” Cook added.

“His attitude and approach to his racing and being part of a team is something which has helped make our decision to welcome him aboard an easy one.

“We are confident that Tim will fit into our team perfectly as we look to up our game even further for our second season in the Supercars Championship.

"We are assured Tim will bring home success as part of PremiAir Racing in 2023.”

2023 Repco Supercars Championship grid (as of October 20, 2022)

Driver Team
Broc Feeney Red Bull Ampol Racing
Shane van Gisbergen Red Bull Ampol Racing
Will Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team
Anton De Pasquale Shell V-Power Racing Team
James Courtney Tickford Racing
Cam Waters Tickford Racing
Thomas Randle Tickford Racing
Jake Kostecki Tickford Racing
Nick Percat Walkinshaw Andretti United
Chaz Mostert Walkinshaw Andretti United
Will Brown Erebus Motorsport
Brodie Kostecki Erebus Motorsport
Mark Winterbottom Team 18
Scott Pye Team 18
Todd Hazelwood CoolDrive Racing
Matt Payne Penrite Racing
David Reynolds Penrite Racing
Andre Heimgartner Brad Jones Racing
TBA Brad Jones Racing
TBA Brad Jones Racing
TBA Brad Jones Racing
Tim Slade PremiAir Racing
TBA PremiAir Racing
Jack Le Brocq Matt Stone Racing
TBA Matt Stone Racing

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter