Who has claimed the most wins for a single team?

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 23/09/2021
  • By James Pavey

When the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship resumes, Shane van Gisbergen will look to climb an illustrious list.

Already in 2021 has van Gisbergen claimed 11 race wins.

His latest victory, at the WD-40 Townsville SuperSprint, was also his 40th for Triple Eight Race Engineering.

Only four drivers in history have won more races at a single team than van Gisbergen's 40 at Triple Eight.

Whincup has taken all 123 wins with Triple Eight

His current teammate Jamie Whincup leads the way by some margin, with the marker unlikely to be broken any time soon.

Whincup has amassed a record 123 race wins, and all have come with Triple Eight - and at 22 different circuits.

The retiring Whincup has claimed all 123 wins, 91 poles, four Bathurst wins and seven drivers' titles with Triple Eight.

Second is Mark Skaife, who claimed 66 of his 90 career wins with the Walkinshaw-led Holden Racing Team.

Skaife won 66 races with HRT

Skaife won 66 races, three Bathursts and three titles for HRT between 1998 and 2008.

His final HRT win came at Phillip Island in 2008 alongside 56-time race winner Garth Tander, who won 26 races for the HSV Dealer Team (2005-2007) and 24 for HRT (2008-2016).

Craig Lowndes is third and fourth on the list; Lowndes won 58 races for Triple Eight between 2005 and 2019, and 49 for HRT between 1996 and 2000.

Lowndes claimed Triple Eight's first ever race win at Eastern Creek in 2005, its first enduro win at Sandown in the same year, and its first Bathurst win alongside Whincup in 2006.

Lowndes won 49 races for HRT, and later, 58 with Triple Eight

The only other driver ahead of van Gisbergen is Kiwi countryman Scott McLaughlin, who won 48 races for the Shell V-Power Racing Team between 2017 and 2020.

Such was McLaughlin's dominance for DJR Team Penske, that he is Ford's most successful driver.

Dick Johnson and John Bowe both won 30 races each for DJR, with Peter Brock winning 31 for the Holden Dealer Team.

Eight more wins for van Gisbergen and he'll draw level with McLaughlin. If he does so in 2021, he'll also break McLaughlin's record for wins in a season.

Van Gisbergen has won at six of seven events so far this season, brought up 50 career wins, and also became the eighth driver to win 10 or more races in a year.

Most ATCC/Supercars race wins for a single team (to 2021 WD-40 Townsville SuperSprint)

Jamie Whincup: 123 with Triple Eight Race Engineering*

Mark Skaife: 66 with Holden Racing Team

Craig Lowndes: 58 with Triple Eight Race Engineering

Craig Lowndes: 49 with Holden Racing Team

Scott McLaughlin: 48 with DJR Team Penske**

Shane van Gisbergen: 40 with Triple Eight Race Engineering*

Mark Winterbottom: 38 with FPR/PRA/Tickford Racing

Glenn Seton: 37 for Glenn Seton Racing

*driver can add to tally in 2021

**McLaughlin is slated to drive for the team at the Repco Bathurst 1000

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter