Whincup's unique manufacturer milestone

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 21/04/2021
  • By James Pavey

With his Race 7 victory at the Beaurepaires Tasmania SuperSprint, Jamie Whincup became the first driver to win 90 races for a manufacturer.

Whincup’s Sunday win, which was his 123rd career win, was his 90th aboard a Holden.

The seven-time champion, who will retire from full-time driving at season’s end, broke Craig Lowndes’ Holden wins record in Adelaide last season.


The Red Bull Ampol Racing driver has now won as many races in Holdens as Mark Skaife achieved in his career.

Whincup extended his all-time wins margin over Craig Lowndes to 13, with Lowndes claiming win No. 110 alongside Whincup at the 2019 Sandown 500.

Skaife (80) leads Garth Tander (56), who picked up his 56th win alongside Shane van Gisbergen in last October’s Bathurst 1000.

Whincup crosses the line in Race 7

Current championship leader van Gisbergen (44) is closing on Peter Brock, whose 46th and final Holden win came at Oran Park in 1997.

Scott McLaughlin, who made a solid full-time IndyCar debut last weekend, remains Ford’s most successful driver with regards to wins.

McLaughlin’s Race 29 victory at Tailem Bend last September was his 48th for Ford, and 56th overall.

Whincup and engineer Wes McDougall celebrate

His contemporary Mark Winterbottom, who shifted to Holden and Team 18 in 2019, is second for the Blue Oval on 38 wins.

So impressive was Whincup in his Ford seasons for Triple Eight between 2006 and 2009, that he fourth behind Glenn Seton (37) and ahead of John Bowe (30).

Of active Ford drivers, Will Davison has won 12 races for Ford, his first coming for Dick Johnson Racing in Sydney 13 years ago.

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to The Bend Motorsport Park for the OTR SuperSprint across May 8-9.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo with highlights on 7 and 7 Plus.

Most championship race wins for Holden

# Driver Wins
1 Jamie Whincup 90
2 Craig Lowndes 85
3 Mark Skaife 80
4 Garth Tander 56
5 Peter Brock 46
6 Shane van Gisbergen 44
7 Greg Murphy 28
8 Russell Ingall 21
9 Todd Kelly 19
10 Jason Bright 14

Most championship race wins for Ford

# Driver Wins
1 Scott McLaughlin 48
2 Mark Winterbottom 38
3 Glenn Seton 37
4 Jamie Whincup 33
5 John Bowe 31
6 Dick Johnson 30
7 Allan Moffat 29
8 Marcos Ambrose 28
9 Craig Lowndes 25
10 Chaz Mostert 13

Most championship race wins (manufacturers)

# Manufacturer Wins
1 Holden 578
2 Ford 398
3 Nissan 31
4 BMW 17
5 Volvo 11
6 Chevrolet 10
7 Mazda 8
8 Jaguar 4
9 Porsche 2
Mercedes-Benz AMG 2
11 Alfa Romeo 1
Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter