Whincup stripped of second by penalty

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 14/09/2019
  • By Stefan Bartholomaeus

Jamie Whincup has lost his second-place finish in the ITM Auckland SuperSprint opener, due to a post-race time penalty for 'careless driving'.

Whincup has been hit with a 15-second post-race penalty after spinning Nick Percat at the Turn 8 hairpin on lap two.

It drops Whincup to sixth in the race result, costing the Red Bull Holden Racing Team a one-two finish.

The change elevates Cameron Waters to second and David Reynolds to third.

Percat recovered from the early incident to finish 12th.

"Following a post-race investigation and an admission by Car 88, Jamie Whincup, of a breach of the Code of Driving Conduct (Schedule 2.2.1 – Careless Driving – causing contact with Car 8, Nick Percat, on Turn 8 on Lap 2), the Stewards imposed a 15-second time penalty on Car 88, Jamie Whincup," the stewards report read.

The sanction was one of four applied for Race 23, the other three being enforced in-race.

Macauley Jones, Will Davison and Chaz Mostert all copped penalties for speeding in pit lane; the first two being handed 15-second penalties for being clocked at 45km/h while Mostert received a drive-through after entering the pits at 52km/h.

The stewards took no further action on the teammate clash between Tickford Racing’s Cameron Waters and Chaz Mostert, deeming that “neither driver was wholly or predominantly to blame.”

Garry Jacobson also escaped punishment for allegedly impeding Todd Hazelwood during qualifying.

Shell V-Power Racing meanwhile was fined $1000 after Fabian Coulthard’s #12 Mustang ran over equipment in the process of leaving its pit bay in qualifying.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter