Whincup extends Tassie record: Race 7 takeaways

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 18/04/2021
  • By James Pavey

For the first time in 2021, Shane van Gisbergen failed to win a race; however, Red Bull Ampol Racing remained at the top.

Race 7 belonged to Jamie Whincup, who claimed his first win since Townsville last season.

Whincup’s Race 20 win at the Reid Park circuit came on August 30, 2020; a run of 232 days without victory.

It also ended a 17-race winless streak for Whincup, his longest since he snapped a 24-race winless run at Queensland Raceway in 2019.

Whincup claimed his 123rd career win, extending his margin over the retired Craig Lowndes to 13.

It was also Whincup’s record 13th win at Symmons Plains, and his first at the Launceston venue since 2018.


It was the first time in 203 days that van Gisbergen had failed to win a race, having last missed victory in Race 30 at The Bend last year.

The race marked Whincup’s 226th podium finish, with van Gisbergen clinching podium No. 122.

It was also the 47th win for the Holden Commodore ZB, bringing it closer to the Ford Falcon BA’s 51 wins.

The Race 7 podium finishers

Only the Commodore VF (108), Commodore VE/VE II (103), Commodore VT (63) and Falcon FG (55) have won more races.

Will Davison claimed the second podium in as many days for the Shell V-Power Racing Team following Anton De Pasquale’s Race 6 breakthrough.

It was Davison’s 56th career podium, four short of Chaz Mostert for 12th on the all-time list.


Mostert claimed fastest lap bonus points for the second time this season courtesy of his lap 20, 51.8897s flyer.

Will Brown scored his best full-time result for Erebus Motorsport with fifth, having finished ninth on Saturday.

It was Brown’s third straight top 10 finish, adding to his Race 5 seventh at Sandown last month.

The Beaurepaires Tasmania SuperSprint will conclude with Race 8 at 4:25pm AEST.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter