What you need to know: WD-40 Phillip Island 500

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 20/04/2017
  • By Supercars.com

Originally designed in 1956, the Phillip Island circuit was re-born for the 1989 Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

The fast and flowing venue has been basically unchanged and hosts two international motorcycle events (MotoGP and World Superbikes) and a full program of four-wheeled events including the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship.

The circuit was resurfaced a few years ago in 2012, seeing a new race lap record set at the following Supercars event in 2013.

during the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint, in Phillip Island, Australia, April 16, 2016.

What time is it on?

The first cars hit the track at 9:00am on Friday morning, with the Dunlop Super2 Series having its first practice session at 10:05am and the Virgin Australia Supercars Championsip at 12:30pm.

Saturday's 250 kilometre race starts at 15:45pm while Sunday's is at the earlier 1:50pm.

Super 2 will also race four times, with its first on Friday afternoon.

Click here for the full track schedule.

How can I watch it?

Every practice, qualifying and race from the WD-40 Phillip Island 500 will be broadcast live, ad-break free on Fox Sports 506.

Race highlights can be seen on Saturday and Sunday evenings on Ten and ONE.

Click here for the full television schedule.

during the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint, in Phillip Island, Australia, April 16, 2016.

Where can I buy tickets?

Tickets can be purchased online here while there will be others available at the circuit via the gates.

How else can I follow it?

Supercars.com will provide all the latest news and updates throughout the weekend, while you can follow the weekend on social media with @supercars on Twitter, the hashtag #VASC or facebook.com/supercars.

Live timing and car tracking is available in the new Supercars app, available free to download on iOS and Android while times are also available on supercars.com throughout the weekend.

The numbers:

Length: 4.445 km

Direction: Anti-Clockwise

Average Speed: 174 km/h

Top Speed: 290 km/h

Fast Fact: 2017 will mark the 28th time the ATCC/VASC has visited Phillip Island since the first round was held there in 1976. A total of 56 individual races have been held in that time.

Qualifying Lap Record: Scott McLaughlin Garry Rogers Motorsport Volvo S60 1m30.3918s 2016 Dunlop Hard Tyre

Race Lap Record: Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Race Engineering Holden Commodore VF 1m32.0246s 2013 Dunlop Hard Tyre

during the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint, in Phillip Island, Australia, April 17, 2016.

Race wins by driver

Craig Lowndes 11
Mark Skaife 9
Glenn Seton 7
Garth Tander 5
Jamie Whincup 5
Scott McLaughlin 4
Marcos Ambrose 3
Todd Kelly 3
Larry Perkins 2
Mark Winterbottom 2
Will Davison 2
Russell Ingall 2
Allan Grice 1
Colin Bond 1
Craig Baird 1
Dick Johnson 1
Peter Brock 1

Pole positions by driver

Jamie Whincup 7
Craig Lowndes 5
Mark Winterbottom 4
Scott McLaughlin 4
Glenn Seton 3
Mark Skaife 2
Peter Brock 2
Alan Jones 1
Allan Grice 1
Dick Johnson 1
Fabian Coulthard 1
Steve Owen 1
Jason Bright 1
Marcos Ambrose 1
Steven Richards 1
Rick Kelly 1
Todd Kelly 1
Tony Longhurst 1
Will Davison 1
Luke Youlden 1

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter