What you need to know: Watpac Townsville 400

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 06/07/2017
  • By Supercars.com

Located just south of the Townsville CBD, the circuit winds its way through Reid Park where specially constructed roads form approximately 70 percent of the circuit.

Set in a parkland style reminiscent of the Albert Park street circuit in Melbourne, the Townsville circuit proved to be a challenge in its inaugural year in 2009 and quickly became a favourite of the drivers.

Shane van Gisbergen - Qualifying Race 15 - 2016 Castrol EDGE Townsville 400

What time is it on?

The first cars hit the track at 8:20am local on Friday morning.

The opening Virgin Australia Supercars Championsip practice session begins at 12:10pm for 40 minutes.

Both Saturday and Sunday's 70 lap 200 kilometre race start at 4:10pm local time.

A Top 10 shootout on Sunday morning will also take place at 1:15pm

Click here for the full track schedule.

How can I watch it?

Every practice, qualifying and race from the Watpac Townsville 400 will be broadcast live, ad-break free on Fox Sports 506.

Channel 10 will also show the races live on Saturday and Sunday.

Click here for the full television schedule.

Shane van Gisbergen Chaz Mostert - 2016 Castrol EDGE Townsville 400

Where can I buy tickets?

Tickets can be purchased online here while there will be others available at the circuit.

How else can I follow it?

Supercars.com will provide all the latest news and updates throughout the weekend, while you can follow the weekend on social media with @supercars on Twitter, the hashtag #VASC or facebook.com/supercars.

Live timing will also be available on supercars.com throughout the weekend and through the official Supercars app.

The numbers

Length: 2.86km

Direction: Clockwise

Average Speed: 144km/h

Top Speed: 260 km/h

Fast Fact: The lowest grid position for a Townsville race winner is 11th – Garth Tander started from there when he won the
second Saturday race in 2014.

Qualifying Lap Record: Jamie Whincup, Triple Eight Race Engineering, Holden Commodore VF, 1m12.1443s, 2016, Dunlop Soft Tyre

Race Lap Record: Shane van Gisbergen, Triple Eight Race Engineering, Holden Commodore VF, 1m13.3018s, 2016, Dunlop Soft Tyre

Practice 1

Race wins by driver

Jamie Whincup 8
Garth Tander 3
Mark Winterbottom 3
James Courtney 1
Will Davison 1
Shane van Gisbergen 1


Pole positions by driver

Mark Winterbottom 4
Jamie Whincup 3
Craig Lowndes 1
David Reynolds 1
Fabian Coulthard 1
Garth Tander 1
James Courtney 1
Jason Bright 1
Lee Holdsworth 1
Shane van Gisbergen 1
Chaz Mostert 1
Scott McLaughlin 1


Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter