What you need to know: Tyrepower Tasmania Supersprint

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 06/04/2017
  • By Supercars.com

A short yet fast lap characterises the Symmons Plains layout.

The turn four hairpin and left-hander at the end of the back straight are the two best passing opportunities.

Brakes are worked very hard with drivers standing on the ‘middle pedal’ twice a lap within half a minute of one another.

The banking at the hairpin makes for a unique opportunity to line up a good run out of one of the slowest corners on the Supercars calendar.

Cam Waters of Prodrive Racing Australia during the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint,  at the Symmons Plains Raceway, Launceston, Tasmania, April 02, 2016.

What time is it on?

The first cars hit the track at 9:10am on Friday morning, with Dunlop Super2 Series having its first session at 9:45am and the Virgin Australia Supercars Championsip at 12:40pm.

Saturday's 120 kilometre race starts at 4:45pm while Sunday's race begins at 2:05pm.

Super 2 will also race four times, with its first on Friday afternoon.

Click here for the full track schedule and to purchase tickets here.

How can I watch it?

Every practice, qualifying and race from the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint will be broadcast live, ad-break free on Fox Sports 506.

Race highlights can be seen on Saturday and Sunday evenings on Ten and ONE.

Click here for the full television schedule.

during the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint, in Launceston, Australia, April 03, 2016.

The numbers:

Length: 2.4km

Direction: Anti-Clockwise

Average Speed: 167km/h

Top Speed: 270km/h

Fast Fact: The Safety Car has appeared in 23 of the last 34 races at the circuit (67.64%) and the last time a round was completed there without a single SC period for the weekend was back in 1998.

Qualifying Lap Record: Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Race Engineering Holden Commodore VF 50.9676s 2014 Dunlop Soft Tyre

Race Lap Record: Rick Kelly Kelly Racing Holden Commodore VE 51.4713s 2009 Dunlop Soft Tyre

during the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint, in Launceston, Australia, April 02, 2016.

Race wins by driver

Jamie Whincup 11
Craig Lowndes 9
Garth Tander 7
Peter Brock 7
Allan Moffat 5
Dick Johnson 4
Mark Skaife 4
Glenn Seton 3
Greg Murphy 3
Alan Jones 2
Fabian Coulthard 2
Jason Bright 2
John Harvey 2
Robbie Francevic 2
Will Davison 2
Allan Grice 1
Colin Bond 1
David Besnard 1
George Fury 1
Jim McKeown 1
Jim Richards 1
John Bowe 1
Marcos Ambrose 1
Mark Winterbottom 1
Norm Beechey 1
Rick Kelly 1
Todd Kelly 1
Shane van Gisbergen 1

Pole positions by driver

Peter Brock 8
Jamie Whincup 6
Craig Lowndes 5
Mark Winterbottom 5
Allan Moffat 4
Garth Tander 4
Mark Skaife 3
Allan Grice 2
Bob Jane 2
Colin Bond 2
Dick Johnson 2
John Bowe 2
Steven Richards 2
George Fury 1
Ian Geoghegan 1
Jason Bright 1
Jim Richards 1
Paul Dumbrell 1
Paul Radisich 1
Robbie Francevic 1
Wayne Gardner 1

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter